2017 National Election

Peter Isoaimo declared as Member elect for Kairuku Hiri Open

Isoaimo was officially declared by Kairuku Hiri Returning Officer Tabu Vaira today at Bomana CS.

He was escorted to Bomana by the National Alliance Party leader and Member elect for Aitape Lumi Patrick Pruaitch and three other NA MPs.

Isoaimo signed the Writ witnessed by supporters, counting officials, electoral officers, security personnel and the media.

He thanked the people of Kairuku Hiri for having the trust and confidence in him and giving him the mandate to lead a full five year term after he was elected during the bi election in 2014.

Counting: Kairuku Hiri progressive result- after elimination 19

After the 19th exclusion of Bernard Koae, Isoaimo is ahead on 14 357 votes.

1647 votes from Koae were distributed among the 8 remaining candidates.

Results for the top five after elimination 19:

1. Peter Isoaimo (NA): 14, 357

2. Paru Aihi (PNC): 11, 108

3. Steven John Manai (Pangu): 7,362

4. Scott Boio Morata (Indept): 5,510

5. Gabriel Nicholas (PPP): 5,218

The absolute majority now stands at 27,992.

The total votes distributed so far is 6526 and the total exhausted votes is 1,364.

Counting: Kairuku Hiri progressive result – after elimination 18

Counting officials stopped counting over non-payment of their allowances, however, they decided to resume today after they were assured that payment will be made.

After elimination 18, National Alliance candidate and incumbent Member Peter Isoaimo maintains a steady lead.

After the 18th exclusion of Jimmy Anio Aniawa Anio, Isoaimo is leading with 14,054 votes.

1332 votes from Anio were distributed among the 9 remaining candidates.

Results for the top five after elimination 18:

1. Peter Isoaimo (NA): 14 054

2. Paru Aihi (PNC): 10 721

COUNTING: Nuku’s progressive result – after elimination 3

Nuku Returning Officer Francis Yawalan told Loop PNG that after elimination number three, no candidate has reached the absolute majority yet. This means elimination will continue to find a winner.

Candidates eliminated after the third round were Kelly Waranguai (Independent), Nelson Kelly (PNG Party) and Adam Mensum Wangu (PANGU).

The counting is now into the fourth exclusion, and these are the remaining candidates.   


COUNTING: Angoram Open progressive result – after count 20

Returning Officer Cherobin Vaiang confirmed with Loop PNG that primary votes in the 20 ballot boxes have already been counted for the Open seat in East Sepik Province.

He said the absolute majority is 11,527 votes.

 Twenty-eight candidates are contesting, and the progressive top five candidates are;




New MP sets sights on road infrastructure

“The important need my people will want immediately is a good road infrastructure because the road network system from Koroba to Lake Kopiago was built during the colonial times,” says Petrus Thomas.

However, he knows it will not be a one man job and needs a good administration to deliver in the five years.

“I need to settle down and get my administration in order first,” Thomas said.  

The Independent candidate also has health and education on top of his priorities.

PNC party heavyweights lose seats

Morobe Election Manager Simon Soheke confirmed to Loop PNG a few minutes ago that PNC Party candidates, Mao Zeming (Tewae-Siassi MP) and Theo Zurenuoc (Finschhafen MP) have respectively lost to Dr Kobie Bomareo and Rainbo Paita.

PANGU have now claimed four Open seats in the province, where party leader Sam Basil is also a local MP.  

The defeat will send shockwaves through the PNC camp because Zeming is the deputy party leader and Fisheries Minister in the completed term of Parliament.

And Zurenuoc served his five years as the National Parliament Speaker.

NA confident to win 25 seats

NA Party president and declared winner for Namatanai Open, Walter Schnaubelt, is beaming with confidence, with the current progressive results of counting in the 2017 National Elections.      

“National Alliance is looking confortable to win at least 25 seats,” Schnaubelt announced in a media conference this afternoon.  

“We are tracking that way right now, and we are confident to have these numbers.

“We are also in discussion with 20 independent candidates who are happy to join the team, in relations to the formation of the (new) government.

COUNTING: Progressive results for Yangoru Saussia – After count 11

The Trade, Commerce and Industry Minister and THE Party candidate Isaiah Sanduma collected well in the first ballot box opened today – Box 11.  

Returning Officer Martin Wana said after Count 11 today, this are the top five candidates on the progressive tally.  




Richard Maru

Youth take initiative while waiting on election results

The group, consisting of 128 boys, were in town to support candidate contesting the Usino-Bundi Open seat Vincent Kumara and decided to clean up the town as part of their community service.

As a community and youth leader back at Bundi, Kumara was pleased to see the youths do something productive while waiting for the election results in Madang Town.

With the theme "Carpe Diem" or "Sieze the Day", the boys did a 2.5km Sunday morning walkathon from Bukbuk to Tusbab beach picking up rubbish along the way.