2017 National Election

COUNTING: Progressive results for Finschafen Open – After elimination 28

Paita has taken over by 51 Votes after elimination 28 in the Finschafen Open.

Returning Officer, Essing Ulam told Loop PNG that a declaration is expected this afternoon.  

With 14 more elimination counts to go, the new member elect for the Open seat in Morobe Province is expected to go either way, Pangu or PNC.         

The progressive tally of the top three candidates show:


I am still an independent candidate: Petrus Thomas

“I stood as an independent candidate, and I remain as an independent candidate,” Thomas said today.    

“I will stay as an independent candidate and monitor the formation of the government and if I see a possible party that will form the government, it is my people’s choice that I must be in the government.”

Thomas comments followed a photo on Facebook showing him being welcomed by Prime Minister and PNC party leader, Peter O’Neill and Tari – Pori MP James Marape in Mendi after his declaration on Sunday.    

10 Members of Parliament declared so far

So far, Pangu Party has two declared, one declared for National Alliance Party, the Melanesian Liberal Party (MLP) has one MP declared whist the People’s National Congress (PNC) Party has the highest with six declared members. 

Among the 10 declared were Prime Minister and Member for Ialubu Pangia Peter O’Neill and Tari Pori MP James Marape who was the first member to be declared on July 9.

Basil retains Bulolo seat

Bulolo Returning Officer Raune Jombert confirmed to Loop PNG that the Pangu Party leader was declared at 4pm, this afternoon.  

The top three candidates for Bulolo Open are;




Sam Basil



Pangu candidate takes Markham Open seat

PNC man and sitting MP, Paul Isikiel was knocked out of the race after the 23rd elimination round, before midday today.

Five boxes were left to distribute this morning, as candidate George Gedisa was eliminated.

Kima Kilau followed suit, as his ballots were distributed.

Scrutineers waited and watched in anticipation as Pangu's Koni Iguan continued to collect more votes over the second and third candidates.

Eventually, sitting member Paul isikiel was eliminated and the race was on for a final declaration.

Nuku Open quality checks to be completed on Monday

Counting officials finished counting for all the primary votes on Friday.

Yawalan told Loop PNG that the final figure will be known once the quality checks are completed.  

The top three candidates on the progressive tally, sees the incumbent Nuku MP maintaining a buffer of 3, 418 votes over former MP and People’s National Congress Party candidate.



COUNTING: Kandep Open’s progressive result – after count 33

With 34 more ballot boxes yet to be counted, it will be an interesting finish.       

As of the completion of count 39 last night, these are the progressive results:

Kandep Open - after count 33




First major election casualty

Chan is a member of the People’s Progress Party but maintained ranks with the O’Neill-Dion Government when the party broke ranks to team up with the Opposition. This was during the unsuccessful motion of the Vote of No-Confidence early this year.

The people of Namatanai District in New Ireland Province have spoken through the ballot papers.

Cousin and National Alliance Party President, Walter Schnaubelt, is the new Namatanai member declared midday yesterday after a landslide victory.         

COUNTING: NCD regional progressive result – after count 156

The count for the NCD regional seat now stands at 156.

Progressive results as of 4:30pm today are as follows; 

Yangoru-Saussia progressive result – after count 5

After count 5, below are the top three candidates’ progressive results.




Richard Maru

4, 964 


Peter Wararu