Elections 2017

Decision on Kandep counting suspension expected

Counting in Kandep was suspended over the weekend after violence erupted in Wabag between supporters of two candidates contesting the Kandep seat.

The violence resulted in the deaths of two police officers deployed to the area as Election Security personal who were intervening to stop the clashes.

Electoral Commissioner, Patilias Gamato, said he is expecting a report from the Police Commissioner, Gary Baki, who is presently on the ground.

Countng: Kairuku Hiri set to complete counting

Kairuku Hiri returning officer Tabu Vaira confirmed that the elimination process will begin this afternoon.

After quality checks, incumbent Member and National Alliance candidate Peter Isoaimo had the highest progressive total with 13,238 votes.

Results for the top five after quality checks:

1. Peter Isoaimo (NA): 13 238

2. Paru Aihi (PNC): 10 133

3. Steven John Manai (Pangu): 6927

4. Scott Boio Morata (Indept): 4767

5. Gabriel Nicholas (PPP): 4589

The absolute majority stands at 28,674.

Counting: Central Regional completes quality checks

Central Province election manager Kila Egaba confirmed that the elimination process will begin late this afternoon.

He said there were a lot of changes to figures after quality checks.

After quality checks, Independent candidate Robert Agarobe has the highest progressive total with 24,190 votes.

Results for the top five after quality checks:

1. Robert Agarobe (Independent) : 24 190

2. Kila Haoda (PNC): 21 520

3. Rufina Peter (TPNGP): 16, 139

4. Boe Eno Daera (Independent): 14, 380

4. Nelson Saroa (PPP): 11,008

Potape disputes declaration claim

Loop PNG understands that, Philip Undialu, has been declared as Governor-elect for Hela Province by Election Manager John Tipa.

However, this is being disputed by Francis Potape, alleging that Tipa burnt the master tally board this morning before doing the declaration.

Potape further alleges that Tipa had been bribed by the People’s National Congress (PNC) Party to declare Undialu without following the proper legal process.

Potape told Loop PNG from Tari that after the final elimination, his score was 67,435 while Undialu collected 65,836.

Members of Parliament declared

Loop PNG will be updating the tally as counting countinues and MPs declared.




Peter O’Neill  

Ialibu- Pangia Open

Involvement of security personnel during elections not right: Kua

Member elect for Sinasina Yongumugl and leader of the PNG National Party Kerenga Kua said the presence of security personnel makes voters intimidated and sometimes scared of voting for the right leader.

In a media conference on Sunday in Port Moresby, Mr Kua said officers from the disciplinary forces have a duty to do and not to provide security during the election period.

He said elections must be conducted in a free, fair and transparent manner and not with the presence of security personnel.

Maneke is MP elect for Talasea

At the 31st exclusion for the Talasea Open, Maneke polled above the Absolute majority of 17,439 and declared winner over runner up and outgoing MP Francis Marus who polled 15,796.

Galia collected 19,081 votes to seal the victory.

He was declared on Sunday and officially signed the writ.

Meanwhile, Sasindran Muthuvel retained the Provincial seat as well as Joseph Lelang for the Kandrian Gloucester seat.


Picture: Governor Sasindran Muthuvel with Talasea MP elect Francis Galia Maneke

NCD regional counting results - after count 341

Progressive results are as follows;

  1. Powes Parkop (SDP) - 38, 209
  2. Andy Bawa (IND)- 19,159
  3. Michael Kandiu(IND) - 16,411
  4. Robert Agen(IND ) - 8,047
  5. Paul Paraka (GRUF) - 5,965

So far, counting is slow but is progressing well.

Officials have returned back from recess and will resume with count 342 shortly.

More updates on Loop PNG.

Moresby North West results - after 15th exclusion

  1. Sir Mekere Morauta - 9,329
  2. Joe Tonde-6,586
  3. Samuel Boe Lohia - 6,205
  4. Honk Kiap - 3,336
  5. Michael Malabag - 2,218

Absolute majority stands at 42,425.

Total Allowable votes is 42,487 with 62 exhausted.

Counting for North West has been suspended for the day.

Retired Captain Lekwa Gure elected as Rigo MP

Gure was declared after edging PNC’s Ano Pala by 101 votes.

Gure shot to the top after the 37th exclusion of Turai Elemi. 

Gure raked in a massive 614 votes from Elemi’s 5980 votes.

Pala was forced down to the second where he was eliminated at the 36th exclusion.

Member elect for Rigo Open, an Independent candidate Lekwa Gure, was declared at 1pm today with a total of 7335 votes, exceeding the absolute majority of 7283.