Elections 2017

PM O'Neill disgusted by violence in Wabag

O’Neill said this election has been the most peaceful of recent decades and it will not be undermined by a disgruntled few.

"There is no excuse for the behaviour we have seen over the past two days, and those behind it will be brought to justice,” he said.

“Supporters and members of the disciplined forces must exercise restraint, and not be misled by disgruntled individuals.
“Those behind these activities must hang their head in shame.

Muthuvel retains WNB Governor seat

After the 16th exclusion, Muthuvel polled above the absolute majority of 43,402 by 1,287 votes with a total of 44,689.

He was declared at 7pm last night by the Provincial Returning Officer, Emily Kelton. 

Runner up was Chris Paul Lagisa who polled 26,764.

Speaking to Loop PNG after his declaration, Muthuvel thanked all his supporters in West New Britain and committed to continue to deliver services to his people.

With his theme “Reaching the unreached and Touching the untouch” Muthuvel has dedicated his victory to the people of WNB.

Maprik MP hails officials for conducting fair elections

Speaking during his declaration on Saturday, Simon also welcomed his fellow contestants to work in partnership with him to develop Maprik District in East Sepik Province.

"The people of Maprik have spoken because of my leadership," Simon said.

He dedicated his win to all the people of the district and made a commitment to be fair in the delivery of service delivery and infrastructure development.

Simon was declared at 3:20pm in Maprik town yesterday.

Re-elected Wosera Gawi MP committed to develop district

The parliamentary leader for Melanesian Alliance Party said building better roads to all villagers will be his priority in his second term in Parliament.

Yopyyopy was speaking after his official declaration on Saturday in the Wosera Gawi counting centre in Maprik town.

He acknowledged the support he received through the electorate.

"Getting big margins in all the ballot boxes shows that people have found a leader," Yopiyopi said.

Returning officer Freddy Pinga officially declared the elected member at 4pm yesterday.

Tammur is new Kokopo MP elect

Tammur was declared at 5:40pm at the Vunapope Diocese Hall.

Tammur won by an absolute majority of 50%+1 (7, 519) votes in the 23rd elimination count polling at 8,325 votes.

Running second to him was former sitting member, Ereman ToBaining Jnr, who polled at 6,711 votes.

His declaration today makes him the first member-elect for the People's Progress Party in the 2017 National Elections.

Celebrations are currently underway in Kokopo as Tammur's supporters take to the street to celebrate his win.

Lone incumbent female MP maintains lead

The only three incumbent female MPs include Eastern Highlands Governor Julie Soso, Lae MP Louzaya Kouza and Sohe MP Delilah Gore.

Gore is maintaining her lead in the Sohe electorate.

Sohe Returning Officer Wesley Korapera told Loop PNG that after count 25 which is the final count for the first preferential papers, Gore polled 5,151, followed by an independent candidate Hansley John Amuri with 2,449 votes and People’s Party candidate Paulinias Huhena on third spot with 2,446.

Quality checks are currently underway with eliminations to commence tomorrow.

Sungi retains Nuku open seat

The National Alliance Candidate was declared at Nuku Station this afternoon.

Returning Officer Francis Yawalan told Loop PNG that after the 7th exclusion, Joe Sungi was declared by collecting 11,112 votes.

Pangu Pati candidate Andrew Kumbakor is on second spot with 7,851 votes.

"Mr Sungi was declared at 2:22pm, the absolute majority is 10,599."

Nine candidates contested for the Nuku Open seat, and the runner up is the former MP for Nuku.

Contradictory decision on Sunday polling in WNB

This is after allegations of polling on a Sunday held in Wasum in the Kandrian Gloucester Open seat.

It is understood that Team 11 conducted polling on Sunday July 2, the last day of polling due to several factors.

According to the report from team 11, they had encountered bad weather including rough seas, strong winds and rain.

When they arrived at Wasum, the village chief, elders, the people and scrutineers all agreed for voting to take place after church service so they exercise they constitutional rights to cast their votes.

Polye on second spot – 5 more boxes to go

Kandep Returning Officer Ben Besave confirmed to Loop PNG that only five ballot boxes are remaining before they’ll do the quality checks.

After count 60 results:

  1. Alfred Manasseh (PNC) – 16,053
  2. Don Plye (THE) – 14,307
  3. Peter Mision Yaki (PP) - 5,493
  4. Jonathan Paraiya (Ind) - 4,930
  5. Timothy Rau Dulya (Ind) – 2,743

Besave said the remaining five ballot boxes will be counted today and elimination will commence tomorrow after the quality checks.

Meanwhile, counting is in recess and will resume shortly for count 61.

Counting: Kairuku Hiri progressive result: after count 35

Isoaimo leads on 10,498 votes followed by former Member and People’s National Congress Party candidate Paru Aihi in second place.

Count 35 top five results:

1. Peter Isoaimo (NA) : 10,498

2. Paru Aihi (PNC) : 8281

3. Steven John Manai (Pangu) : 6907

4. Gabriel Nicholas (PPP): 4420

5. Scott Boio Morata (Indept): 4344

Ballot box for count 35 came from Bebeo, Oriropetana, Jeku and Inawaia Village in the Mekeo LLG.

The progressive total informals after count 35 is 1043 and total ballot papers counted so far is 50,784.