2017 National Elections

COUNTING: Moresby North-East quality check ends

COUNTING: Kairuku-Hiri progressive result – after elimination 14

Incumbent Member and National Alliance candidate Peter Isoaimo continues to lead the race after elimination 14.

After the 14th exclusion of Michael A'o Aubo, Isoaimo is ahead on 13,492 votes.

360 votes from Aubo were distributed among the 13 remaining candidates.

Results for the top five after elimination 14:


Angoram retains Waipo

The National Alliance candidate defended the Open seat in East Sepik Province with a convincing win after the 26th exclusion yesterday.    

Waipo bagged 16,389 votes, surpassing the absolute majority figure of 13,366.

Independent candidate Patrick Tangit finished second with 10,366 votes for the Angoram Open in the 2017 National Election.

Waipo was declared at 11:30am on Monday as a second term MP. 

COUNTING: Kairuku-Hiri progressive result – after elimination 13

After the 13th exclusion of Philip Aita Karolo, Isoaimo leads on 13,445 votes.

178 votes from Karolo were distributed among the 14 remaining candidates.

Results for the top five after elimination 13:

COUNTING: ESP progressive result – after primary count completion

This is the only seat yet to find a winner in the 2017 National Election for East Sepik Province.  

According to reports from Wewak, elimination started last night.    

The progressive top five candidates following completion of primary counts; 

COUNTING: NCD Regional progressive results – after elimination 6

Extension for return of writs

The extension was officially made on Friday 21st by Governor General, Sir Bob Dadae.

Electoral Commissioner, Patilias Gamato, announced today that the extension is to allow for counting in other parts of the country to be completed.

Gamato previously announced that an extension was well within the required number of days for polling and counting.

He said by law 21 days was allowed but they had only requested to the Govenor General 16 days, leaving a five day buffer, which they will now use.

Today, Gamato received writs from the following seats:

Melanesian Alliance secures first seat

Party leader Joseph Yopyyopy will represent the 80,000-plus people of Wosera-Gawi in East Sepik Province as a second term MP in the 10th Parliament.

Returning officer Freddy Pinga officially declared the elected member at 4pm at the counting centre in Maprik District.

Pinga said Yopyyopy was declared with 10,822 votes; the absolute majority was 9,060.

Francis Bandu finished second with 7,896 votes.  

Simon declared for Maprik Open

Deputy Parliament Speaker John Simon was declared at 3:20pm at Maprik town.

Simon was declared after the 20th exclusion with 15,565 votes, bypassing the 13,779 absolute majority mark.

Former Maprik MP, Gabriel Kapris, finished in the second spot with 11,976 votes.

Kapris was unable to wrestle back the seat from the man who unseated him in the 2012 National Election.

Returning Officer Godfried Sokamia, during the official declaration, said 39,977 people voted and they recorded only 678 informal votes.

COUNTING: Madang Regional progressive result – after count 62

The progressive tally: