Simon declared for Maprik Open

The National Alliance Party has won its first seat in East Sepik Province.

Deputy Parliament Speaker John Simon was declared at 3:20pm at Maprik town.

Simon was declared after the 20th exclusion with 15,565 votes, bypassing the 13,779 absolute majority mark.

Former Maprik MP, Gabriel Kapris, finished in the second spot with 11,976 votes.

Kapris was unable to wrestle back the seat from the man who unseated him in the 2012 National Election.

Returning Officer Godfried Sokamia, during the official declaration, said 39,977 people voted and they recorded only 678 informal votes.

Twenty-one candidates contested the Open seat in East Sepik Province. 

Charles Yapumi