2017 National Elections

Observers’ accreditation extended

Commissioner Patilias Gamato has issued circular instructions this week to all provincial election managers to communicate with their officials in the province on the extension of accreditation badges to August 31.

He said in a statement that the extension is to facilitate the continuing work of election observers nationwide.

“I have advised my provincial election managers that if they have any questions or concerns in relation to the work of the Election Observers then they should bring them to my attention immediately.

Alliance forged in Central Sepik

NA candidate and deputy speaker John Simon has retained the Maprik Open seat while MAP leader, Joseph Yopyyopy, has also been given a second term in Parliament by the people of Wosera-Gawi electorate.

Both member-elects are traveling to Maprik for their official declaration.

Yopyyopy spoke of an alliance to support the growth of Central Sepik.

More to come on Loop PNG.

(Loop file pic)

COUNTING: NCD Regional progressive result – after count 326

Progressive results as of 2pm this afternoon are as follows; 

COUNTING: Goilala Open progressive result – after elimination 27

Closer to the finish line, incumbent sitting member William Samb is leading by at least 2,821 votes.

He needs 1,683 more to reach the absolute majority of 7,687.

Remaining ballot papers to count are 15,372.

Following are progressive results:


Gunfight at Wabag town

This followed the attempted murder of Kandep district returning officer Ben Besawe and other officials.

Eyewitnesses and security personnel said Besawe and two other election officials were shot at in front of a guest house at Wabag town. This occurred while they were preparing to make their way to the counting venue at Wabag Primary School.

The incident led to a clash between supporters of two candidates from Kandep who have been at loggerheads over election-related matters.

COUNTING: Moresby North-West eliminations to start

The quality check comes after the primary counting of the electorate’s votes.

The top five candidates after quality checks:


Kua welcomed by jubilant supporters

He was welcomed at the Jackson's airport by jubilant supporters at lunch time today.

Kua said he was retained this time around with the biggest margin, which was not on cash politics.

He said people believed in his service delivery, which reflected in him receiving the biggest vote from his district.

He polled a total of 21,114 to retain his seat.

"We need to play cash free politics. If they (people) see services, they will retain you. This was the biggest lesson learnt from Sinesine-Yongumugl," Kua said.

Maprik declaration expected today

Maprik Open Returning Officer, Godfried Sokamia, told Loop PNG this morning that four candidates remain after the 18th exclusion yesterday.

"In the process of excluding candidates, the exhausted ballot papers will reduce the absolute majority (figure) between 16 to 17,000 votes.

"The current absolute majority stands at 18,000-plus," Sokamia said.

Of the 22 candidates who contested to unseat NA Party candidate and Parliament Deputy Speaker John Simon, the last four standing are:

30 declarations so far

Four more declarations were made recently.

Kerenga Kua successfully retained his seat as MP for Sinasina-Yongumugl in Chimbu Province. The leader for PNG National Party polled a total of 21,114. He is the first to be elected from his party so far.

Sir Puka Temu also retained his seat as Member for Abau for the fourth conservative term, polling over 900 votes from the absolute majority.

Sir Puka polled 11,638 votes, adding to the ruling People's National Congress Party.

COUNTING: Kerema Open quality check underway

The final tally of top 5 candidates after completion of primary vote count: 


Kerema Open progressive result - after count 39 (final count)