Maprik Open

Maprik petition set for trial

Election petition administration judge, Justice Collin Makail, commended parties in the Maprik Open seat for complying with orders and directions of the court thus far, as he set it for five days’ trial in December.

The petition, filed by Vincent Alois Yangwari challenging John Simon’s win, has been set for December 11-17.

Yangwari is alleging instances of bribery and illegal practices during voting.

Simon will be using 14 witnesses for the trial.

The trial will be held at the Wewak National Court.

Simon declared for Maprik Open

Deputy Parliament Speaker John Simon was declared at 3:20pm at Maprik town.

Simon was declared after the 20th exclusion with 15,565 votes, bypassing the 13,779 absolute majority mark.

Former Maprik MP, Gabriel Kapris, finished in the second spot with 11,976 votes.

Kapris was unable to wrestle back the seat from the man who unseated him in the 2012 National Election.

Returning Officer Godfried Sokamia, during the official declaration, said 39,977 people voted and they recorded only 678 informal votes.

Maprik declaration expected today

Maprik Open Returning Officer, Godfried Sokamia, told Loop PNG this morning that four candidates remain after the 18th exclusion yesterday.

"In the process of excluding candidates, the exhausted ballot papers will reduce the absolute majority (figure) between 16 to 17,000 votes.

"The current absolute majority stands at 18,000-plus," Sokamia said.

Of the 22 candidates who contested to unseat NA Party candidate and Parliament Deputy Speaker John Simon, the last four standing are:


The table shows the progressive results after count 30 yesterday.    


COUNTING: Maprik Open’s progressive result – after count 23

Also the sitting MP, John Simon cut his deficit of over 1, 700 primary votes to trail his predecessor Gabriel Kapris by only 419.    

Maprik Open Returning Officer Godfried Sokamia told Loop PNG as Count 23 ended at 5 pm yesterday the top three candidates are; 

COUNTING: Maprik Open’s progressive result – after count 18

Maprik Open Returning Officer, Godfried Sokamia, told Loop PNG that after Count 18 ended at 8pm last night, the incumbent MP, John Simon, is trailing the man who he unseated 5 years ago.

The top three candidates are;