Bougainville government

ARoB boasts 5 women MPs

Autonomous Region of Bougainville President, Ishmael Toroama, when congratulating the new Mahari Constituency MP, said, “This is indeed very unique and shows our people’s ability to see beyond gender, creed and ethnicity.”

“She joins the new crop of leaders in the Fourth House who are all working hard and working together for us to realise our ultimate political goal of independence.

JSB Resolution Signed

The signing of resolutions on Friday 22nd April signifies the acceptance of both governments regarding the resolutions of the Joint Technical Team.

The Co-chairs signed the Joint Technical Team resolutions directing that the Joint Legal Technical working group immediately commence discussions on drafting the Constitutional Regulations, commence preparations of a Report to the 11th National Parliament in 2023 and also, the JSB proper to be convened at a later date in Kimbe, West New Britain Province.

Panguna landowners petition Bougainville government over BCL

The landowners presented their petition on Friday, April 28, 2017.

The petition is a direct response to reports that President Momis is considering supporting the BCL application because he understood it was supported by local landholders.

Chairman of the SMLOLA (Special Mining Lease Osikaiang Landowner Association), Philip Miriori and other representatives met with Momis in March this year following the misleading statements made suggesting BCL had unanimous consent.