Mioks Tigers in first qualifier

Reaching the pinnacle of the country’s premier competition, let alone lifting the major silverware would be the ultimate goal of every team competing in the PNGNRLC, Digicel Exxon Mobil Cup.

After their unblemished run through regulation season and the minor premiership title in the bag, Mioks remain steadfast in their belief and process to get through to the big one on September 3.

Matildas' semifinal loss to England was not about the finish, but the run

The moment had come from nothing, really: Clare Hunt poking the ball away from Alessia Russo, Katrina Gorry taking a lucky touch in-field and turning.

So low had the Matildas' players been sitting, pressed back into themselves by a thundering England side, that Kerr had to venture deep into her own half to even get close to the game that had largely been happening without her.

Netball Semi-Finals dusted

The top four teams battled it out to secure the top 2 spots for the Grand Final. There was a number of super close games across the divisions.

Next weekend games will hold final dry-runs. A meeting will be held after this weekend’s games with representatives of teams who are in the grand final.

On February 19th, the competition will have the Top 4 Playoff  with two minor finals, and 25th February the Top 2 go head to head in the grand finale.

Officials Warn Against Spectator Violence

Unggai league President Ben Wanjack said executives of the league met during the week and agreed to ensure that team's, officials, players and supporters behave during the grand final.

Management of the league stated it will not tolerate bad behaviour, and will suspend or terminate teams and officials if there is ill-discipline during the finals.

“We don’t want to see spectator violence on and off the field, but good sportsmanship,” said Wanjack.

“My warning to the players and officials to be professionals during the finals.”

NSL semi-finals to be played in Madang

This was confirmed by NSL competition manager, Simon Koima.

The semi-finals will see first play fourth and second play third. The winners will advance to the grand-final.

The top four:

Lae City Dwellers (28), Madang FC (19), Huawei PS United FC (16), Besta PNG United FC (11),

12:30pm will see the undefeated Lae City Dwellers FC take on Besta PNG United FC. Later at 3pm, Madang FC will clash with Huawei PS United FC.

The NSL grand final will be played in Port Moresby next weekend.