Awasa Cup

PNG Loop's Breakfast Bites

Peter O’Neill calls Manus centre a problem that should end

Papua New Guinea's prime minister says Australia's asylum seeker detention centre on Manus Island is a problem that has damaged his country's reputation.

Sirinumu water level at critical stage

Eight teams confirmed for Awasa Cup finals

They are, Mendi One, TNT Jets, Poroma, Imbongu, Mendi Two, Kutubu, Lower Mendi and Upper Mendi.

The eight teams were among 18 that came from districts throughout the province to challenge in the round robin games played last weekend. 

They played in four pools with the top two in each pool qualifying while the rest of the 12 teams were eliminated.

The final play offs kick off on today with Imbongu taking on Upper Mendi in the first game.

Awasa Cup brings SHP league teams to Mendi

The tournament kicked off today at the main town oval with the grand final on Sunday.

Teams taking part are from the districts throughout the province including Ialibu, Pangia, Erave, Kutubu, Poroma, Nipa, Mendi and Imbongu.

The tournament is aimed at scouting local talents to represent the Mendi Muruks in 2016 Digicel Cup season.

Organiser Jack Kerema said they have invited all districts to take part as they want more participation from the local talents.