Ampol State of Origin 2022

Burton, Crichton retained in centres for Origin decider

An Australian international from the 2017 Rugby League World Cup, McLean was part of the wider' Blues squad for Game Two and will come into the run-on side alongside Jake Trbojevic at prop for his debut in Game Three.

After a resounding 44-12 win in Perth to level the series, the Blues are otherwise unchanged for the decider in Brisbane. 

Gilbert to debut as Maroons name team for Origin decider

Kaufusi, who scored the first try of Game Two and has made 14 appearances for the Maroons since his Origin debut in 2018, is unavailable due to family reasons.

Instead, Slater will turn to Cowboys young gun Jeremiah Nanai in the back row, with Gilbert set to join Harry Grant, Jai Arrow and Patrick Carrigan on the bench.

Cleary sublime as brilliant Blues level series in Perth

Blues coach Brad Fittler made a number of changes after a first-up loss in Sydney and was vindicated as Matt Burton shone on debut and Jake Trbojevic was immense in his return to the Origin arena.

The series now heads to Brisbane for a decider on July 13 with NSW carrying huge momentum and Billy Slater's Maroons needing to regroup.

Six minutes into the contest it was Maroons flyer Selwyn Cobbo with a chance to open the scoring but he was denied by a great cover tackle from Brian To'o.

Blues v Maroons: Freddy rings changes; Taulagi to debut

Manly warhorse Jake Trbojevic and Rooster Angus Crichton are back in the fold with an eye to curbing the Maroons' dominance around the ruck, while Burton's towering bombs offer a second kicking option to relieve pressure on key playmaker Nathan Cleary.

For the Maroons, the loss of Xavier Coates and Reuben Cotter to injury sees in-form Cowboy Murray Taulagi come in on the wing for his Origin debut and Rabbitohs hard-man Jai Arrow recalled to the squad after missing Game Three last year for disciplinary reasons.

Blues make changes to squad for Game Two

With Jack Wighton unavailable for selection due to covid protocols, Bulldogs five-eighth Matt Burton has been called into the squad, having performed admirably at centre last year for eventual premiers Penrith.

Cronulla powerhouse Siosifa Talakai has also been named in the squad which includes teammate Nicho Hynes, who was 18th Man for Game One.

Maroons spoil Blues homecoming to take series opener

In front of 80,512 fans at Sydney's Olympic Park, the Maroons, led by Munster, Daly Cherry-Evans and debutant Patrick Carrigan, dominated on their own terms with big moment plays helping Queensland to a special win. 

The Blues enjoyed the field possession early to take a 4-0 lead but the injection of Carrigan in the 15th minute swung momentum Queensland's way and from there the visitors came up with points and the defensive efforts late as NSW struggled to take any control in the match.