Motu Koitabu rugby league

MKRL thanks late Ottio

Chairman of the MKRL, Dae Boe, said this during his tribute at the funeral service this week at Tatana.

“The MKRL owes it to Kato’s advice. He always told me to never give up and keep pushing this concept on to keep developing.

“We took his advice and successfully completed a full season just last year.”

Boe said Ottio will never be forgotten and is a role model for all Motu Koitabuans.

“To all Motu Koitabuans, Kato Ottio left behind a legacy of humbleness and respect and to always strive to do your best.

“Let us follow this.” 

MKRL decision yet to be reached

After 100 minutes, the final between Tatana Island Fairfax and Baruni Eagles ended in a 22-22 draw yesterday at the Sir Hubert Murray Stadium.

Clashes after between supporters from both team only marred what was a highly entertaining match that even golden point couldn’t decide a winner.

Chairman of the MKRL, Pipi Dae Boe, said he is consulting the PNG Rugby Football League on the next course of action to take.

“I’m waiting on the PNGRFL to make a judgement then I will call for a press conference,” said Boe.

MKRL finals to start tomorrow

Chairman of the MKRL, Pipi Dai Boe, explained these will be the final 8 teams contesting against each other to see who advances and who bows out from the race in the elimination and qualifying finals for the A Grade and U20 men’s division.

“Winners proceed towards the grand final which will be on Saturday October 7 at the Sir Hubert Murray Stadium.”

He said the finals series was cancelled last week due to bad weather.

“We will have our elimination and qualifying finals this weekend starting with U20’s on Friday and A Grade on Saturday.

Motu Koitabu rugby league season starts this weekend

Chairman of the MKRLA, Pipi Dae Boe said 15 clubs have registered to play in two divisions – A Grade men’s and U-20 men’s.

The clubs are: (1) Araira Tigers, (2) Tatana Island Stones, (3) Baruni Eagles, (4) Gabi Warriors, (5) Elevala Lahara Cyclones, (6) Mirigini Sharks, (7) Hanuabada Lahara Storms, (8) Poreporena Laurabada Marlins, (9) Korobosea Dragons, (10) Kira Kira Mahana Knights, (11) Pari DMT Cowboys, (12) Buria Reds, (13) Buria Moskitos, (14) Porebada Bulldogs and (15) Tubusereia Raiders.

“The women’s division will be on trial basis for now,” said Boe.