Elimination Round

Wigmen’s finals hope shattered

Under a packed crowd at the Santos National Football Stadium on Sunday, the Lahanis broke hearts by winning at the final whistle.

Lahanis tagged underdogs started into the match kick-off with heads high to face the might of the Wigmen at all cost.

After some good exchanges by both teams in the opening minutes, it was Lahanis led by veteran captain, Charlie Buka at dummy half, who stayed in the grind and persisted throughout the contest that frustrated the opponents much to the delight of their parochial white and red army of supporters.

Gurias stop Muruks in thriller

Gurias now advance to the second round of the elimination finals this weekend.  

Gurias got off to a flyer, dominating the first half with powerful centre and man of the match, Alex Max scoring a double, before Muruks clawed their way back into the contest, only to fall short by 2 points.

After their heartbreaking 22-12 loss to Muruks without head coach Francis Ray, back in round 14, the East New Britain men took to the Santos National Football stadium with a plan to tame Muruks in an early surge.

Final elimination for Kokopo Open

At 1:30pm, the latest tally put People’s National Congress Party candidate Ereman ToBaining Jnr in the lead with 11,109 votes. PANGU Pati Emil Tamur had 6,038 votes.

The absolute majority is at 12, 539.

Kokopo Open seat is expecting a new Member of Parliament by this afternoon.

Meanwhile, candidate Komet Malari has bowed out of the race in the 19th exclusion. His 5,482 votes will be shared between Ereman Tobaining Jnr and incumbent MP Emil Tamur.