44 confirmed for PNGRFL AGM

Forty-four leagues from around the country are eligible to attend the PNG Rugby Football League (PNGRFL) Annual General Meeting (AGM) to be held on February 25, 2017 in Lae, Morobe Province.

CEO of the PNGRFL, Reatau Rau said the 44 leagues comprising of 13 from Southern, four from New Guinea Islands, 16 from Highlands and 11 from Northern Confederates have met all affiliation criteria for 2016 and complied with the PNGRFL constitutional requirements.

“The forty-four leagues have fulfilled and met all constitutional requirements and their Presidents are qualified and eligible to attend the AGM set for Saturday February 25, 2017 at 10am at the Lae International Hotel in Morobe Province,” said Rau.

He said apart from the normal order of business where the Chairman’s and finance reports will be presented, there will also be elections for the Chairman and four Confederate Directors.

“We have sent out nomination forms to each respective Confederate Directors to distribute to their affiliated leagues. The nomination forms are numbered and marked therefore will be hard to duplicate and avoid sending multiple nominations,” said Rau.

He clarified that each affiliated league can nominate their person of choice, seconded and signed by the nominee as set out on the prescribed form and can be returned directly to the CEO.

“These nomination forms for the position of Chairman of PNGRFL and Director of a Confederate must reach my office no later than 5pm this Friday February 10, 2017. This is as per the constitution and must be strictly adhered to,” said Rau.

The affiliated leagues are: Southern – Port Moresby (PRL), Moresby South, Motu Koita, Papa, Koiari, Tauruba, Kemabolo, Popondetta, Kiunga, Wippie (Western), Kerema, Tei Kariko (Gulf) and Gaire.

New Guinea Islands – East New Britain, Buka, Rabaul and Kimbe.

Highlands – Goroka, Kundiawa, Kerowil, Banz, Kimil, Minj, Mt Hagen, Imbonggu, Tari, Mt Hagen North, Magarima, Mendi, Ialibu, Opka, Pangia and Wabag.

Northern – Madang, Wau/Bulolo, Atzera, Usurufa, Lae, Ramu, Wewak, Madang Unity, Kainantu Gateway, Vanimo and Kesevaka.

Rau reiterated the importance of returning the nomination forms by this Friday.

He added all league presidents will travel into Lae by the evening of Friday February 24 and leave on Sunday morning February 26.








Troy Taule