New NCC Board appointed

A new Board of Directors for the National Cultural Commission (NCC) has been appointed.

The Board will be chaired by Chief Secretary Isaac Lupari and comprises of eight members from a range of fields.

The eight ex-officio members are Lupari, anthropologist and lecturer at the University of Goroka Dr Bill Francis Sagir, acting director of the National Museum and Arts Gallery Senea Greh and Education Secretary Uke Kombra.

The non-ex-officio members are Wesley John Hantan from the Melanesian Tourist Services in Madang, Dr John Bu from the private sector in Jiwaka and organiser of the Goroka Show Keryn Hargreaves.

NCC acting executive director Casper Damien welcomed the Board members, saying this signals a bright future for NCC as they’ve been without a Board for almost a year.

The last Board members’ term in office lapsed in April 2016.

Damien said the board’s priority areas include outstanding issues of the 2014 5th Melanesian Festival of Arts, appointment of a permanent executive director and an organisational restructure.

The Board meetings are scheduled quarterly with special meetings in intervals, depending on the nature of the issues.

The swearing-in of the new members for a three-year term will take place on Wednesday, December 21.

Quintina Naime