National Softball Championship

K32, 000 prize money for softball club champs

The original prize money for the championships was K22, 000 given by major sponsor, PNG Power.

But this increased by another K10, 000 thanks to the support from State Enterprises Minister and Member for Hagen Open, William Duma.

President of the PNG Softball Federation, Ralph Tarasomo this morning explained the break up of the prize money.

First place: K7,000, Second place: K5,000, Third place: K2, 500 and Fourth place: K1, 500.

He said the break up amount for the different placings is the same for both the men's and women's.

Bears win back to back softball club titles

It was a scoreless first three innings. Pitchers from both teams, Quandalyne Vinim (Bears) and Tenisha Kuveu (Rovers) were in top form backed up by tight infields determined not to let any runs through.

Rovers broke the deadlock at the bottom of the fourth inning after an overthrow to first base allowed Alice Bossie to run home from third base to score. The Bears hit back in the sixth inning scoring all their five runs through Francine Malum, Nadia Bais, Lisa Polum, Francisca Kinit and Delin Bais.