Marape: Collective decision not to include two MPs

The decision to shut down Laguna gate at 12 midday on Sunday and not allow any more MPs to be included after John Pundari joined is a collective decision, says Tari Pori MP James Marape.

When clearing the air on the arrival and refusal to include two more MPs yesterday, Marape said the team collectively decided to shut the gate at 12 noon.

“We respectfully refused one or two personal friends, for me I refused one personal friend whose a member of parliament who came in and I had to respect these two leaders here,” he said.

“It is no more about James Marape, it is no more about William Duma, it is no more about Patrick Pruaitch. It is about the team of likeminded leaders on this side of the house.

“I sacrificed a personal friend today and asked him, go back, stay at home until this team decide the next course of the way we’d like the team Laguna to move,” he said this after Kiriwina Goodenough MP Douglas Tomuriesa and Talasea MP Francis Maneke were not included in the Alternate Government team.

“On the 7th of May maybe it was not God’s timing. Today we have crossed the threshold of 56 with the inclusion of like-minded leaders who moved in, and our camp today at Laguna shut with 63 members in the house.

“This is not a funny business. These are leaders who sacrificed perks and privileges, comfort of office, and friendship.

“I sacrificed my friendship with Peter O’Neill but it’s nothing between Ialibu, Tari and Pangia anymore. This is about our country.

“The team collectively decided that the gate shut at 12 noon, who am I to not honor their views?” Marape added.

Opposition Leader Patrick Pruaitch said they closed the gate at 12 noon because they have sufficient numbers to form the next government.

While the Opposition Camp has 63, over in Crown Hotel, Prime Minister Peter O’Neill after announcing he will step aside as PM, said he is confident the Government team will maintain a majority when parliament resumes sitting on Tuesday.

“Some of the outspoken governors who wanted the change now have the opportunity to support Sir Julius Chan, and not people who have no policy vision for the country so I am confident we will deliver the numbers and do everything possible to ensure that this is given a good chance.

Below is the list of the 63 confirmed Members of Parliament as announced by Marape at the Laguna Camp on Sunday evening:

1.  Opposition Leader and MP for Aitape Lumi-Patrick Pruaitch

2.  MP South Bougainville- Timothy Masiu

3.  MP Moresby North-West - Sir Mekere Morauta

4.  Governor East Sepik- Allan Bird

5.  MP Vanimo Green- Belden Namah

6.  MP Rabaul- Dr. Allan Marat

7.  MP Sinesine Yongomul- Kerenga Kua

8.  Governor Oro- Gary Juffa

9.  Governor Eastern Highlands- Peter Numu

10.         MP Namatanai- Walter Schnaubelt

11.         MP Kavieng- Ian Ling- Stuckey

12.         MP Wabag- Dr. Lino Tom

13.         MP Madang- Bryan Kramer

14.         MP Kairuku Hiri- Peter Iso Aimo

15.         MP Nuku-Joe Sungi

16.         MP North Fly- James Donald

17.         MP South Fly- Segie Agisa

18.         MP Kerema- Richard Mendani

19.         MP Kandrian Gloucster- Joseph Lelang

20.         MP North Bougainville- William Nakin

21.         MP Huon Gulf- Ross Seymour

22.         MP Bogia- Robert Naguri

23.         MP Samarai Murua- Isi Henry Leonard

24.         MP Angoram-Salio Waipo 

25.         Governor West Sepik- Tony Wouwou

26.         MP Tari Pori- James Marape

27.         Governor Enga- Sir Peter Ipatas

28.         Governor Jiwaka- Dr. William Tongap

29.         Governor Southern Highlands- William Powi

30.         Governor Hela- Philip Undialu

31.         MP Abau-Sir Puka Temu

32.         Governor Manus- Charlie Benjamin

33.         Governor West New Britain- Sasindran Muthuvel

34.         Governor Western- Taboi Awi Yoto

35.         Governor Morobe- Ginson Saonu

36.         Governor Central- Robert Agarobe

37.         MP Esa’ala-Davis Steven

38.         MP Telefomin- Solan Mirisim

39.         MP Komo Magarima- Manasseh Makiba

40.         MP Maprik- John Simon

41.         MP Wasara Gawi- Joseph Yopiyopi

42.         MP Usino Bundi- Jimmy Uguro

43.         MP Okapa- Saki Soloma

44.         MP Karamui Nomane- Jeffery Kama

45.         MP Daulo- Pogoi Gate

46.         MP Lae-John Rosso

47.         MP Finschhafen- Rainbow Paita

48.         MP Goilala- William Samb

49.         MP Tawai Siassi- Dr. Kobby Bomarea

50.         MP Chuave- Wera Mori

51.         MP Imbongu- Pila Niningi

52.         MP Mt. Hagen- William Duma

53.         MP Gazelle- Jelta Wong

54.         MP Bougainville-Joe Lera

55.         MP Middle Ramu- Jonny Alonk

56.         MP Obura Wonenara- Mehrra Kipefa

57.         MP Kundiawa Gembongl- William Onglo

58.         MP Sohe-Henry Amuli

59.         MP Anglimp South Wagih- Joe Kuli

60.         Governor Simbu- Michael Dua

61.         MP Lagaip Pogera- Tomait Kapili

62.         MP Ijivitari- Richard Masere

63.         MP Kombiam Ambum- John Pundari



Sally Pokiton