Team PNG squad announced for Commonwealth Games

The Papua New Guinea Commonwealth Games Association (PNG CGA) has finalized its squad of athletes and officials for Team PNG to the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games in Australia this April.

Executives of the PNG CGA released the names this week following the finalization of the sports entries and an exhaustive process of selection and justification hearings, to ensure that athletes had met the qualifying standards agreed to by their national sporting federations and the PNG CGA or were regarded as the best in Papua New Guinea, for their particular event.

Team PNG Chef de Mission to the Commonwealth Games, Tamzin Wardley thanked the Executive Board for their decision saying this was a difficult process compared to previous Commonwealth Games, as for the first time the Commonwealth Games Federation enforced quotas on individual athlete places, so athletes were competing against each other for final spots.

The team consists of 56 athletes and 32 officials including the General Management Team. They will participate in 10 of the 23 sports offered during the Games which will run from April 4th to 15th. The 10 sports are; Athletics (Para-Athletics), Boxing, Lawn Bowls, Rugby 7s, Shooting, Squash, Swimming, Table Tennis (Para-Table Tennis), Triathlon and Weightlifting.

The team will feature gold medalists from the last Commonwealth Games in Glasgow in 2014, weightlifters, Steven Kari and Dika Toua along with Olympic number six, Morea Baru.

Weightlifting and Rugby 7s were the two sports that qualified through a Games qualification process. The men’s Rugby 7s team did this through their fourth place finish at the 2017 Oceania Championships.

Para-athletes competing at the Games also had to go through a qualification process.

Although no PNG para-athletes were able to qualify on merit, the PNG CGA was pleased to have Samuel Nason of para-athletics and Vero Nime of para-table tennis receive universality place invites from the Games Organizing Committee to compete.

Completing their final preparations in various parts of the world ranging from the USA to New Caledonia to Australia and PNG, the Team PNG athletes on the final squad are all excited at the prospect of competing against the Commonwealth’s best on the Gold Coast.

With the Gold Coast so close to PNG, Wardley is confident that the team will feel at home when they move in to the athletes’ village in late March which makes it easier for those who feel uneasy competing away.

Team PNG returned with two gold medals from the last Commonwealth Games in Glasgow and while there is an air of confidence in the team Wardley says they will not be putting extra pressure on athletes with their expectations.

“At their best, Papua New Guinea athletes are just as good as any other athletes in the world and I know their performance on the day will be fuelled by their patriotism for our country.”

“They will be giving their very best and we’ll be there to give them all the support they need to perform well,” she said.

Wardley also invited everyone to buy a Trukai Fun Run t-shirt this year as the funds raised from that goes towards sending Team PNG to the Games. She thanked Trukai for the on-going support of Team PNG.

Wardley also wanted to thank Team PNG platinum sponsor Kumul Petroleum Holdings Limited for their support, which has ensured no team member had to pay a levy fee.

The public is encouraged to support Team PNG by following and sharing their updates on social media at #teampng2018 and posting well wishes to push them on.


Team PNG (barring injury) is;

General Team Management

Tamzin Wardley – Chef de Mission

Stephen Damien – General Manager

Andrew Lepani- Deputy General Manager

Asiani Vagi – Admin Officer

Christopher Amini – Athletes Representative and Operations

Dr. Kapua Kapua – Chief Medical Officer

Matthew Natusch - Physiotherapist

Michelle Fae - Physiotherapist

Sharon Arua - Masseur

Andrew Molen - Photographer/ Press Attaché

Vanessa Kerton -Photographer/ Press Attaché




Mowen Boino

Ephraim Lerkin

Wesley Logorava

Nazmie-lee Marai

De'bono Paraka

Theo Piniau

Peniel Richard

Samuel Nason (Para-athlete)



Afure Adah

Rellie Kaputin

Adrine Monagi


Philip Newton - Head Coach

Wilson Malana - Coach

Nola Peni - Manager




Charles Keama

Thadius Katua

John Ume


Laizani Soma


Joe Aufa - Head Coach

Mark Keto - Assistant Coach

Gideon Kendino - Manager




Gabriel Tika

Polin Pomaleu

Matu Bazo

Manu Walo

Freddy Koesan


Loa Babona

Rebecca Walo

Ju Carlo

Catherine Wimp

Piwen Karkar


Andy Agowaua - Manager

Kamu Walo - Coach



Wesley Vali

Arthur Clement

Henry Kalua

Emanuel Guise

Patrick Tatut

William Tirang

Gairo Kapana

Freddie Rova

Himah Alu

Eugene Tokavai

Dean Manale

Samuel Malambes

Nathan Baramun


Douglas Guise - Coach

Damaris Minikula - Team Manager

Hendriella Vilosi – Trainer/Physiotherapist




Daniel Wanma

Angus Donald


Tania Mairi


Peter Leahy - Coach

Betty Wanma - Manager




Suari Madako Junior


Lynette Vai


Konio Vai - Manager




Leonard Kalate

Ryan Maskelyne

Ashley Seeto

Samuel Seghers

Josh Tarere


Robert Van Der Zant - Coach

Sarenah Pini - Manager




Geoffrey Loi


Vero Nime (Para-Athlete)


Rea Loi - Coach

Annie Loi - Manager



Rachel Saperi James


Tobby Coote - Coach




Toua Udia

Morea Baru

Steven Kari


Thelma Toua

Dika Toua

Lorraine Harry


Willie Tamasi     - Manager

Jeffrey Robby    - Coach

Troy Taule