Loko suspended, Boas returns for round 22

David Loko will miss this weekend’s Intrust Super Cup Round 22 clash against Redcliffe Dolphins at the Oil Search National Football Stadium.

Loko was suspended for one match by the QRL judiciary following a dangerous tackle in last Sunday’s loss to Wynnum Manly.

Adex Wera and Ase Boas return from injuries and have been named in the starting line up along with in form fullback Terry Wapi.

Ila Alu, Bland Abavu, Paul Wawa and Willie Minoga have been named on the extended bench.

The 20 man squad is:

1. Terry WAPI

2. Junior RAU

3. Brendon NIMA

4. Adex WERA

5. Garry LO

6. Ase BOAS

7. Nick HASU

8. Enock MAKI

9. Woods KAWAGE

10. Stanton ALBERT

11. Kevin APPO

12. McKenzie YEI

13. Moses MENINGA - Captain


14. Sailas GAHUNA


16. Ila ALU

17. Bland ABAVU

18. Paul WAWA

19. Brendon GOTUNO

20. Willie MINOGA

The final 17 will be named an hour before kick-off at 3pm On Sunday, August 25, at the Oil Search National Football Stadium.

This will be the SP Hunters farewell match for Stan Joyce, who retires as head of SP Brewery. Fittingly, the SP Hunters and Redcliffe Dolphins will be playing for the Stan Joyce Cup currently held by the Dolphins since the SP Hunters entered the ISC competition in 2014.

An SP Port Moresby Rugby League Women’s match between Black Swan International Royals and Kama Kopi Ltd Sisters is the curtain raiser which kicks off at 1pm.

Gates at the OS NFS open at 12 noon on August 25.

Press release