New Chief Justice sworn in

Sir Gibbs Salika, PNG’s current longest serving judge, was sworn in today as the country’s new Chief Justice, by Governor General, Sir Bob Dadae.

Following his appointment on November 13, Sir Gibbs took his oath into office at the Government house, in the presence of Vanuatu’s Chief Justice, a judge from New Zealand’s Supreme Court and other judges from the PNG Judiciary.  

The longest serving judge of PNG’s National and Supreme Courts was sworn in today as the seventh Chief Justice, for a term of 10 years.

Sir Gibbs Salika is from the South Fly district of Western Province. He was born on August 11 1955.

Completing his primary and secondary education in his South Fly district, he attended the University of Papua New Guinea from 1975 to 1978 where he graduated with a Bachelor of Law.

He was admitted to the bar in 1979 and went on to work with the Office of the Public Prosecutor as a state prosecutor for six years before moving to the Ombudsman Commission.

In 1989 he was appointed a judge of the National and Supreme courts where he served two consecutive terms.

Sir Gibbs served as deputy chief justice prior to his appointment as Chief Justice.

Others who have served in that post include Sir Sydney Frost, Sir William Prentice, Sir Buri Kidu, Sir Arnold Armet, Sir Mari Kapi and Sir Salamo Injia.

Sally Pokiton