Konga is new ENB governor!

East New Britain Province has a new governor in Nakikus Konga.

Konga was declared at 9.45pm tonight.

Election manager Joap Voivoi told Loop PNG that Konga gathered 25,030 votes ahead of People’s National Congress Party candidate Leo Dion, who was not far behind with 24,642.

The People's Progress Party member was right at the heels of Dion during the counting and elimination period. He overtook the former Gazelle MP at the final leg of eliminations.

His declaration comes less than 24 hours after fellow PPP member, Emil Tammur, became Kokopo Open's new Member-elect.

All electorates in ENB now have their elected MPs;

Regional – Nakikus Konga (PPP)

Kokopo – Emil Tammur (PPP)

Rabaul – Dr Allan Marat (MLP)

Pomio – Elias Kapavore (PNC)

Gazelle – Jelta Wong (United Resources Party)

Carmella Gware