Fifita, Radradra to sit out Four Nations

A controversial on-field message has seen the Kangaroos overlook NRL Grand Final hero Andrew Fifita.

Andrew Fifita and Semi Radradra have been omitted from Australia's Four Nations squad.

Fifita scored the winning try in Cronulla Sharks' NRL Grand Final victory over Melbourne Storm on Sunday, but will not travel to England with the Kangaroos.

The 27-year-old prop caused controversy in the 2016 season by wearing an armband during a match displaying a message of support for a friend, convicted one-punch killer Kieran Loveridge.

"In Andrew's case, selection for the Australian team requires standards on and off the field and as he is currently under investigation by the Integrity Unit, we believe he still has some way to go to meet those off field standards," NRL chief executive Todd Greenberg said.

Parramatta Eels winger Semi Radradra, meanwhile, is facing a court case over domestic violence allegations.  

"In Semi's case, while he has pleaded not guilty, he has charges to answer at the end of the tournament," Greenberg said.

"We don't want either him or the team to be distracted by this matter and have decided he will not be eligible for selection on this occasion."

Kangaroos head coach Mal Meninga has selected seven uncapped players, including Sharks Grand Final winners James Maloney and Valentine Holmes.

North Queensland Cowboys centre Justin O'Neill, fullback Matt Moylan of the Penrith Panthers, St George-Illawarra Dragons forward Tyson Frizell, Canberra Raiders prop Shannon Boyd and hooker Jake Friend of Sydney Roosters are the other newcomers. 

Raiders pair Joey Leilua and Jarrod Croker were ruled out through injury, while James Tedesco of Wests Tigers narrowly missed out on selection, according to Meninga.

Experienced forwards Corey Parker of Brisbane Broncos and the Sharks' Paul Gallen were also overlooked. 

Storm's Cameron Smith will captain the team, who face New Zealand in Perth on October 15, before taking on Scotland in Hull on October 28 to start their Four Nations campaign. 

Australia squad in full:

Cameron Smith (capt), Darius Boyd, Shannon Boyd, Boyd Cordner, Cooper Cronk, Josh Dugan, Blake Ferguson, Jake Friend, Tyson Frizell, Matt Gillett, Valentine Holmes, Greg Inglis, David Klemmer, James Maloney, Josh Mansour, Trent Merrin, Michael Morgan, Matt Moylan, Justin O’Neill, Josh Papalii, Matt Scott, Sam Thaiday, Johnathan Thurston, Aaron Woods.