Six to debut in Kumuls Test team

SP Hunters fullback Terry Wapi and Brisbane Broncos emerging star Xavier Coates are among six debutants named yesterday afternoon for the first leg of the Oceania Cup Pacific Test against Samoa in Sydney, next Saturday (June 22).

Edene Gebbie, Edwin Ipape, Kyle Laybutt and Zev John have worn the red, black and gold jersey in unofficial international matches in the past.

ExxonMobil PNG Ltd Production Manager Keith Killian announced the team in Port Moresby this afternoon.

The PNG LNG Kumuls Test Team (in first name alphabetical order) is:

1. Edene GEBBIE (Debut) - Wynnum Manly

2. Edwin IPAPE (Debut) - Wynnum Manly

3. Enock MAKI - SP PNG Hunters

4. James SEGEYARO - Brisbane Broncos

5. Junior RAU - SP PNG Hunters

6. Justin OLAM - Melbourne Storm

7. Kurt BAPTISTE - North Queensland Cowboys

8. Kyle LAYBUTT (Debut) - North Queensland Cowboys

9. Lachlan LAM - Sydney Roosters

10. Luke PAGE - Burleigh Bears

11. Moses MENINGA - SP PNG Hunters

12. Nixon PUTT - Norths Devils

13. Rhadley BRAWA - Wynnum Manly

14. Rhys MARTIN - Canterbury Bulldogs

15. Stanton ALBERT - SP PNG Hunters

16. Terry WAPI (Debut) - SP PNG Hunters

17. Xavier Coates (Debut) - Brisbane Broncos

18. Zev John (Debut) - Melbourne Storm

Coach: Michael MARUM

The team assembles in Sydney tonight.

(From left: SP Hunters fullback Terry Wapi, Xavier Coates and Edene Gebbie)

Press release