Vipers announce 2022 squad

Moni Plus NCDC Port Moresby Vipers recently released names of their train-on squad for the 2022 Digicel Cup competition.

While majority of the players from this season's playing roster have been retained, six have been released for personal reasons.


When releasing the Vipers pre-season train-on squad, Vipers Board Chairman Dr Newton Albert said majority of players from this season have been retained for consistency game management and combinations.


Dr Newton said they are now looking at other pathway competitions such as the NCD Governor’s Cup, Hope Cup and Amazing Moresby Cup to select additional young players to boost their squad for the 2022 season.


The squad has commenced preseason training with few players from the local leagues and other franchises also invited for the preseason.

Players retained for the 2022 season:

Aaron Kamba                    Frank Tole                          Kingstimer Paraia

Abel Rami                          Iru Dikana                          Maya Clark

Ade Kawa                           Joel Torombe                    Philip Holmie

Ben Wemin                       Junior Kale                         Peter Mondo

Benjamin                           Timothy Junior                Mel Shane Nigel

Bob Gore                           Joel Kee                              Shallom Bire

Brian Gispe                        John Stanley                      Yeki Benjamin

Fedro Gene                       Karis Peter                         Yunny Patrick


Players released:

Brendon Bigam                 Jason Maima                     Macdonald Alowale
Mathew Wauwe              Philip Komboi                    sYoks Bagave


Terry Longbut