50 female election candidates chosen in highly competitive process

Fifty female candidates who intend to run in the 2017 national elections have been selected to participate in a week of training on parliamentary processes.

In  a highly competitive process,  participants from 22 provinces were selected from over 200 applicants and will be trained on critical national policy issues, parliamentary processes and campaign strategies from 6 to 13 March 2017 in Port Moresby.

With only three female MPs out of 111 in Papua New Guinea’s current parliament, women continue to be under-represented as political leaders and elected officials.

Highly qualified candidates from doctors to village women and females from other sectors of the community applied for PNG Practice Parliament for Women training, highlighting just how many women are keen to represent PNG and be active in political life.

The programme aims to empower intending candidates to prepare themselves in the lead up to upcoming national elections in April 2017. 

The programme, organised by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in coordination with Office of Integrity of Political Parties, The National Parliament and Department of Community Development and Religion, will culminate with a practice session in the PNG National Parliament chamber on 13 March 2017.

The UNDP PNG Acting Resident Representative, Ms. Tracy Vienings, commented that, "UNDP is very proud to be supporting the Practice Parliament for the second time in Papua New Guinea. We believe it is important to ensure that PNG women have the opportunity and ability to actively participate in politics.

“This training will develop women candidate's skills not only in campaigning for elections, but also in engaging with policy issues that are critical to PNG's future. That is the role of an MP, and we want to help women prepare to become elected representatives."

The 50 participants were selected by a screening committee, and were also cross-checked with the Electoral Commission to ensure each participant filled in a Form 29 to contest the 2017 elections.

The final list of participants is available below and on the Facebook page: “PNG Practice Parliament for Women 2017.

UNDP acknowledges the generosity of support from the New Zealand Government (Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade) and the Italian Government for the PNG Practice Parliament Session for Women 2017. It is also thankful to Gateway Hotel and Air Niugini, for their official sponsorship.

List of final selected participants for Practice Parliament session for Women 2017

1 Fredah Wantum, Teleforming District

2 Lynn Genai Aina , Kundiawa Gembogl Open

3 Rowena Peter, Central Province

4 Lucy Kikkii Buck, LM Madang Open

5 Josephine Toure Mandawe, Usino Bundi Open

6 Fiona Baim Veisame, Nawaeb Open

7 Lesley Bennet, Finsahfen Open

8 Gima Kepi, Rigo Open

9 Mary Maima, Chimbu Regional

10 Gloria Terikien, Central Bougainville

11 Samantha C Jane Sipo, Ijivitari Open

12 Mary Yalingu Kamang, Madang Regional

13 Martha Kaia Manggal, Gulf Regional

14 Joanne Bonggere Tawi, Kundiawa Gembogl Open

15 Edrica Kega Sama, Middle Fly Open

16 Mary Jossy Ken, Komo Margarima Open

17 Emma Numbuk, Wosera Gawi Open

18 Leah Angowai, Koroba Kopiago

19 Hilda H Polume, Manus Regional Seat

20 Veronica Jiyede, New Ireland Regional

21 Kessy Sawang, Rai Coast Open

22 Salasa Moses, Obura Wonenara Open

23 Rachel Yangu, Southern Highlands Regional

24 Lucy Siki Aiya, Kavieng Open

25 Inabe Ombongu, Middle Ramu Open

26 Elizabeth Matit, Western Regional

27 Dulcie Somare, East Sepik Regional

28 Gillian Torie, Milne Bay Regional

29 Grace Hiris Samuel, Manus Open

30 Angela Mandie- Filer, POM North East

31 Shelley Launa, Moresby North East

32 Susanah Apopo, Kikori Open

33 Lillian Siwi, Eastern Highlands Regional

34 Susan Apa, Gumine Open

35 Veronica Simongun, Wewak Open

36 Lanieth Aua, ENB Provincial

37 Julienne Leka Maliaki , Rigo Open

38 Veronica Waieng, North Waghi Open

40 Betty Komes, Manus Regional Seat

41 Florence Saki, West Sepik Regional

42 Dr. Kapa Kelep Malp, Kavieng Open

43 Martha Goroa Betute, Sohe Open

44 Carol Mayo, Vanimo Green Open

45 Kilaua H Lovati Moviak, Gulf Regional

46 Ume Wainetti, South Fly Electorate

47 Dr. Susanna Andrias Khobu, Goroka Open

48 Linda Yombon, Kompiam Ambung Open

49 Monalisa Lendia Saragum, Samarai Murua Open

50 Joan Sonie, Good Enough

Press statement