​8 Barras players on scholarship

Eight players from the PNG Barramundis will be in Canberra, Australia as a part of the Future Stars Scholarship Program for the 2016-2017 Cricket Season.

Cricket PNG (CPNG) made the announcement today.


Current HEBOU PNG Barramundis player Kila Pala and three development players, Jason Kila, Kiplin Doriga and Doura Gavera flew to Canberra last week to join their respective cricket clubs for the upcoming cricket season in Canberra.

Four (4) more players will join them in the next month or so to participate in the program which for the first time CPNG will be partnering with Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Cricket.

The Player Scholarship Program has been on the CPNG High Performance Program since 2008, where it is designed to select those PNG cricketers with great potential who will benefit from exposure to elite competition, facilities and coaching in another country.

The program has long term implications for the HP Programs of CPNG and aims to assist the players in taking the next steps in their individual performances and careers.

For the first time, CPNG and ACT Cricket have formed an official partnership for the 2016-2017 season where all the CPNG Player Scholarship recipients will be based in Australia’s capital city, playing for various clubs in their Premier Cricket Competition.

The Scholarship recipients this season will be involved in a more structured program, where ACT Cricket High Performance Department will take the lead in both the player development and welfare of our players.

The players will not only have the opportunity to play in the Premier Club competition in Canberra, but also will have access to all the ACT Cricket High Performance resources including coaches and facilities.

Cricket PNG High Performance Department will be expecting that this program will greatly assist the Scholarship recipients both on and off the field.


Lamech Jinimbo