Tommy Remengsau Junior

SIS Leaders demand 1.5 degree target

The statement, according to Prime Minister Enele Sopoaga of Tuvalu was unanimously supported by all the seven SIS members, Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Marshall Islands, Palau and Tuvalu.

For the first time, SIS Leaders met behind closed doors to deliberate issues that concern the grouping, choosing to release a ‘strong’ statement to reflect their unique and special vulnerabilities.

PM Sopoaga told journalists, Small Island States have been advocating strongly for climate change since the early 1990s.