Delegates arrive at Government House

Delegations of diplomats, PNG Electoral Commission staff and the media have assembled at the Government House for the signing and issuing of writs for the 2017 National Elections.

His Excellency, Governor-General Bob Dadae, will pre-sign the instruments/writs at 10am.

The GG will commence the 22 provincial instruments, plus Kabwum Open seat instrument/writ.

The issuing of writs signifies the start of nominations for intending candidates to contest the elections, which will commence at 4pm.

The nomination period will close at 4pm on April 27, followed by eight weeks of campaign, two weeks of polling and two weeks of counting period.

Return of Writs of the election must be before July 24.

Quintina Naime