Five SP Hunters debutants named

Five debutants have been named in the SP Hunters’ 2019 Intrust Super Cup Round one season opener against Tweed Heads Seagulls in Brisbane this weekend.

Joe Joshua becomes Hunter No. 67, Brendon Nima (68), Gairo Kapana (69), Daniel Tapol (70) and Junior Rop (71) have been named in the starting line-up.

On the extended bench are Nicky Hasu and Joe Frank who become Hunters 72 and 73 respectively, if named in the final 18 man travelling team.

Adex Wera will lead the side for the first time and will be playing his 101st ISC game for the SP Hunters.

Junior Rau will sit out this game after the QRL Judiciary handed out a one match suspension for a dangerous throw in the final Round 24 game against CQ Capras last season.

Woods Kawage and Shane Haro were unfortunate to miss out due to injuries sustained in the Tri- oppose sessions against Central Dabaris and Gulf Isou two weeks ago.

The 20 man squad is:

2. Brendon NIMA

3. Bland ABAVU

4. Adex WERA – Captain

5. Gairo KAPANA

6. Charlie SIMON

7. William MONE

8. Moses MENINGA

9. Patrick MOREA

10. Enock MAKI

11. Ila ALU

12. Daniel TAPOL

13. Junior ROP


14. Nick HASU

15. Butler MORRIS

16. Dilbert ISAAC

17. McKenzie YEI

18. Wawa PAUL

19. Stanton ALBERT

20. Joe FRANK

(Two to be omitted)

Coach Michael Marum will finalise the 18 man team on Thursday. They travel to Brisbane on Friday March 8.

The Captains Run will be held on Saturday and the game against Tweed Heads Seagulls kicks off at 2.05pm on Sunday, March 10th, at Piggabeen Sports Complex.

The game will be televised live on TVWan+.

(Gairo Kapana has been named in the season opener’s starting lineup)

Press release