David Loko named in starting lineup

David Loko has been named in the SP Hunters’ starting lineup for this Sunday’s Intrust Super Cup round 20 clash against the Burleigh Bears at the Oil Search National Football Stadium in Port Moresby.

Original SP Hunter Garry Lo and Willie Minoga have been named on the extended bench.

Brendon Gotuno has been handed a one match suspension by the QRL Judiciary for a dangerous throw during last weekend’s loss to Townsville Blackhawks. He has been replaced by Bland Abavu.

The other wing sees Roy Ellison play his second ISC game after making his debut at the country week round 18 game in Wabag. He replaces of Junior Rau, who has been released to attend to personal issues.

The 20-man squad is:

  1. Terry Wapi
  2. Bland Abavu
  3. Brendon Nima
  4. Adex Wera
  5. Roy Ellison
  6. Ase Boas
  7. Justin Yoka
  8. Moses Meninga – Captain
  9. Nick Hasu
  10. Stanton Albert
  11. David Loko
  12. Epel Kapinias
  13. Baundo Aba


  1. Sailas Gahuna
  2. Gairo Kapana
  3. Kevin Appo
  4. Enock Maki
  5. Garry Lo
  6. Woods Kawage
  7. Willie Minoga

The final 17 players will be confirmed an hour before kick-off at 3pm on August 11th.

Meanwhile, the curtain raiser on Sunday will see 10 schools – Waigani elementary, Sacred Heart elementary, Ororo elementary, Philip Aravure elementary, Hohola demonstration, Koki, Waigani primary, Ororo primary, Harmony Christian, Life Care PNG, Ensisi Paga Panthers and Hohola Baby Flies – in the under 6/7, under 8/9 and under 10/11 play their Mini Mod finals starting at 12.30pm.

Gates at the NFS open at 11.30am.

Press release