Two more MPs to face leadership tribunals

Chief Justice Sir Salamo Injia has announced the appointment of leadership tribunals against two more members of Parliament.

Following the appointment request of the tribunal by the Public Prosecutor Pondros Kaluwin on May 8, 2015 the Chief Justice on Tuesday (June 23) announced the appointment of leadership tribunals to investigate the member for Kagua-Erave James Lagea and Bogia member John Hickey.

Both the Lagea and Hickey allegations relate to their failures to comply with the requirements of section 89(1)(g) of the Organic Law on the Integrity of Political Parties and Candidates.

Both members failed to lodge financial returns of the Office of Integrity of Political Parties and Candidates as winning candidates for 2012 general elections.

The Chief Justice said MP Lagea had been personally notified of the tribunal’s appointment and received service of documents.

Meanwhile he said attempts to serve the instruments of appointment and other documents to MP Hickey   had been unsuccessful as the leader was away in Singapore for medical treatment.

Sir Salamo said the documents had been left with his adopted son in Madang town to pass on to the leader.

Both tribunals will start inquiries tomorrow (Thursday) at the National Court building.

The tribunal consists of Justice Goodwin Poole as chairman and members senior provincial magistrates Mark Selefkariu and Ernest Wilmot.