Transparency International PNG (TIPNG)

Corporates Walk Against Corruption

Hosted by TIPNG, the walk is an annual activity that aims to raise awareness about the impact of corruption and how to reduce corruption in Papua New Guinea.

About 85 corporate teams, 15 civil society organizations, 49 schools, and 28 families participated in the walk. 

PNG ranked 29 on the corruption index

Countries are scored on a scale of 0 to 100. 100 being very clean and 0 being highly corrupt.

On the 2023 Corruption Perceptions Index, Papua New Guinea scored 29 out of 100, which reflects a high perceived risk of encountering corruption in interactions with the public sector in the country.

The Corruption Perception Index (CPI) is a report that scores countries and territories around the world that record perceptions of public sector corruption.

The scores reflect the surveyed views of economic experts and business people, not the general public.

Call for consistency in investigations

Citing the recent suspension of the Commander of the Papua New Guinea Defence Force (PNGDF) by the National Executive Council, TIPNG raised concerns that there are inconsistency in the government’s handling of investigations of breaches and apparent wrongdoings of public office holders.

TIPNG remains focused on mission

TIPNG returned an unqualified audit conducted by DFK Mayberry and represented fairly the association’s financial position and of its financial performance in accordance with accepted accounting practices in Papua New Guinea and the Associations Incorporation Act 1966.

ICAC commissioners appointed

Prime Minister James Marape made this announcement on the floor of Parliament today.

The Prime Minister also clarified that since taking office in 2019, all leaders agreed to pass the law on the ICAC.

He said the work of establishing ICAC started back then since the second Parliament but didn’t fully established till the 10th Parliament.

Marape also acknowledged the contributions of the former regime led by Peter O’Neill for pushing through the ICAC bill but fell short to reach Parliament.

TIPNG to release CPI results

The Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) scores and ranks countries based on how corrupt a country’s public sector is, as perceived to be by experts.

The CPI is the leading global indicator of public sector corruption, providing an annual comparative snapshot of 180 countries. 
The index for 2022 draws on 13 expert assessments and surveys and assess how countries have responded to corruption over time, reviewing progress and failures not just in the last year but over the last decade and beyond.  

Elected Leaders Are Legislators: TIPNG

East New Britain Chapter for Transparency International PNG Chairman, Patrick Varagat, issued the reminder during yesterday’s Pomio leg of the voter awareness and candidate forum.

Speaking at the Sinivit LLG of Pomio district, Varagat specifically emphasised on the need for elected national Members of Parliament (MP) to understand their role and not to take over the job of the executive or administrative arm, which lies with the public service machinery.

Free Media Crucial To Accountability

TIPNG Board Chair, Peter Aitsi, in his address at the Media Freedom Day Breakfast said, “In democratic countries, often the media becomes a tool for accountability, to keep other institutions such as legislature, executive and judiciary in check.”

He said in countries such as Papua New Guinea where governance is weak or lacking, the work of an independent and effective media becomes even more crucial.

Anti-Corruption Help Desk Awareness

The help desk is a community service that provides free and confidential legal advice to witnesses and victims of corruption.

TIPNG’s deputy director – communications, Yvonne Ngutlick, outlined that the Anti-Corruption Help Desk has three functions; it provides free legal advice and assistance on corruption complaints, it advocates on the different types of corruption issues and works with institutions to strengthen their capacities to process complaints.

TIPNG Concludes Lae Awareness

The team visited a couple of schools in Lae, with their primary focus on equipping first-time voters with the right information.

Transparency International PNG’s project called ‘Building Elections through Partnership’ has seen them work closely with the PNG Electoral Commission and other key partners to deliver voter education awareness prior to the 2022 National General Elections.

Project lead, Alice Areori, said they have been conducting civic awareness on the elections since 2021, starting in East New Britain Province.