Telikom National Soccer League

FC Port Moresby hopes to improve position

This is the final match of round one in the Telikom National Soccer League 2015-2016 season.

FC POM is last on the ladder with 3 points and hopes to defeat Erema to grab 3 more points.

Erema sits on third place with six points behind PKA Rapatona FC who drew with Gigira Laitepo yesterday, nil all.

In other results this weekend for the southern conference, Hekari defeated newcomers Huawei PS United FC 3-1 while for the northern conference, Madang Fox FC also drew nil all with champions Lae City Dwellers while Besta PNG United lost to Admiralty 3-0.

Rapatona and Gigira end match scoreless

It was a tough encounter as both teams struggled throughout the game but they both had the advantage of a strong backline.

This was the first time they have ever met so the pace in the first half was slow as they got used to each other’s game.

Rapatona picked up speed in the second half but missed an opportunity five minutes into the second half when a hand ball was awarded by the referee.

Despite Rapatona officials’ complaint against the referee’s call which stopped the match for about ten minutes, the referee stood by his decision and continued the game. 

Hekari hoping for 5th consecutive win

Hekari takes on Huawei PS United FC this afternoon in the second match of the double header at 3pm in round five of the Southern Conference.

Leading the points ladder, Hekari is six points ahead of its rival Huawei and is hoping to gain another three points.

Erema is level  with PKA Rapatona FC on six points while fourth placed Huawei will need this win to move three points up the ladder but they can only hope Rapatona suffers defeat against Gigira Laitepo in the first match today.

Madang FC names team for round three

Coach Bob Morris named its 18 man travelling squad yesterday afternoon and left for Goroka today.

Coach Morris says he has put in some new players to take the field with Sojo Mandari to stand at the goal mouth, Langarap Samol, Rodney Talau, Ray Romo and Nigel Malagain to be the backliners.

He says the two midfielders are Darren Steven who last week played wing against Admiralty FC and Hanson Tirimo with wingers Ian Hangasa and Vanya Malagin.

He says the two strikers are captain Max Sengum and Samuel Kini with seven reserves.

Hekari slot 4 past Rapatona

Rapatona were put under pressure to defend early in the game as Hekari looked certain to get first points on a number of occasions.

Hekari made it 1-0 in the 37th minute when Leo Moli scored to put his side in front just before half time.

Hekari continued to dominate possession in the second half as Rapatona struggled to find answers to stop the onslaught.

Tempers flared from both sides with Rapatona and Hekari being awarded three yellow cards each for foul play.

NSL season kicks off tomorrow

In the Southern Conference games at the Bisini Grounds, FC Port Moresby will take on Huawei PS United while Hekari United play Gigira Laitepo United.  Erema FC will go up against PKA Rapatona.

All three games will start at 3pm.

For the Northern Conference, at 10am there will be the game between Admiralty FC and Welgris Morobe United.

Besta PNG United will lock horns with Madang FC at 12:30pm. The main game at 3pm will see Lae City Dwellers play Goroka Gosiha.

All games will be played at the Sir Ignatius Kilage stadium in Lae.

PNG Loop's Breakfast Bites

Polye challenge to PM: what is PNG stance on terrorism

Opposition Leader Don Pomb Polye is urging Papua New Guineans to distance terrorism from religion, race, governments and refugees, saying associating it with each would mean being a racist.

Fraud squad chiefs try to join Vaki case

2015-2016 NSL season launching this Wednesday

This will see all 12 teams display their franchise club uniforms.

 TNSL Competition Manager, Simon Koima said everything was set and he is looking forward to a big season ahead.

All 12 teams have been divided into the Southern Conference and Northern Conference.

Teams in the Southern Conference are Hekari United FC, Rapatona FC, Erema FC, PS Huawei FC, Port FC Moresby and Welgris FC.

Teams in the Northern Conference are champions Lae City Dwellers, Madang Fox FC, Goroka FC, Besta United FC, Gigira Laitepo FC and Admiralty FC.

NSL franchise clubs confirmed for season

Competition administrator Simon Koima confirmed all clubs have indicated the full payment of their nomination fee following the deadline on Saturday October 31.

Koima said there may be one or two teams that have slight delays but have indicated that payments will be done immediately this week.

Koima was in Lae on the weekend for the Besta FA Cup where he received notice of payments from the clubs in Lae including Lae City Dwellers, Besta PNG United and Goroka FC.

Printing of sponsors’ logo on the uniforms for each club will be done this week.

PNG Loop's Breakfast Bites

Falling dam level affects power: PNG Power boss

PNG Power acting chief executive officer John Yanis says the low water levels at Sirinumu Dam had resulted in the hydro power stations generating power supply at a lower capacity.

Transport Efficiency