Swimmer disqualified over kicks

Despite swimming a qualifying time of 2:49:59 sec, Vali-Skelton was disqualified for making two dolphin kicks before going into breaststroke after she made her turn.

This was confirmed by official Sue Babao.

Vali-Skelton’s time was the fourth fastest in this event.

Her team mates Savannah Tkatchenko (2:42:18 sec) and Tegan McCarthy (2:50:84) have qualified for the finals this evening.

Nine PNG swimmers qualify for finals

Heading the push for precious metal are our golden fish Ryan Pini (54.21 sec) and Sam Seghers (56.09 sec) for the men 100m butterfly.

Seghers is the fastest behind Pini in this event.

Shanice Paraka (32.75 sec) and Anna-Liza Mopio-Jane (32.88 sec) for women 50m backstroke. Emma Terebo of New Caledonia was the fastest in this event with a new Games record of 29.86 sec. The previous record was 30.28 sec.

Pini qualifies for 100m butterfly final

Pini swam a time of 54:21 sec and finished first in his heat.

Despite not meeting his personal best of 52.95 sec, Pini told PNG loop that he was happy with his time.

"It was a comfortable race and the crowd out supporting is fantastic.

"I'm looking forward to this evening's final and thank everyone for the support," Pini said.

Sam Seghers miss out on bronze by 0:03 sec

Seghers clocked in at 1:54:09 sec behind New Caledonia’s Jeremy Dufourmantelle who finished third in 1:54:096 sec.

Gold went to Rahiti De Vos who hit the wall at 1:51:87 sec and silver was taken by Hugo Lambert in 1:52:93 sec. Both swimmers are from Tahiti.

In other results, in the women 100m freestyle, Anna-Liza Mopio-Jane finished fourth behind the Fiji duo who took out bronze and silver while New Caledonia won gold. 

PNG swim teams grab bronze in relays

The men team was led by 50m backstroke gold medalist Ryan Pini clocking a finish time of 3:28:02 sec. Tahiti won gold after clocking in at 3:25:02 sec and silver went to New Caledonia clocking in at 3:27:66 sec.

The PNG women team was led by Savannah Tkatchenko clocking in at 4:11:52 sec. New Caledonia took out gold with a time of 3:57:23 sec and Fiji won silver clocking in at 3:57:92 sec. 

Ryan Pini aims for second gold

Pini will be competing in the 100m butterfly on day 2 this morning at the BSP Arena.

There are three heats in this event. Pini will race in heat three lane four.

The top eight in the three heats will qualify for the finals this evening.

Swimmers have just completed their warm ups as the crowd starts to build up.

Other events today are the women 50m backstroke and 200m freestyle, men 400m medley and women 200m breaststroke.

7 PNG swimmers qualify for finals

They're “Super Fish’’  Ryan Pini, Sam Seghers, Britney Murray, Anna-Liza Mopio-Jane, Savannah Tkatchenko, Ryan Maskelyne and Ashley Seeto.

Pini finished with the fastest time, clocking in first in 26.22 sec in the 50m freestyle.

Also in the men’s 200m freestyle, Seghers finished the fastest, recording 1:54:58 sec.

In the 100m men’s breaststroke, Maskelyne finished 4th in a time of 1:06:17 sec and Seeto finished 5th after clocking in at 1:07:87 sec.

Ryan Pini qualifies for finals

Pini clocked in the fastest time of 26.22 sec.

Nathan Nades failed to qualify after finishing third.

Peter Pokawin also didn't qualify after finishing 4th, clocking in at 30.24 sec.

The fastest 8 times have qualified for the finals. 

Ryan Pini heads PNG swimmers into pool

PNG super fish Ryan Pini hits the pool today in day 1 of swimming at the 15th Pacific Games.

Pini will compete in the 50m backstroke alongside team mates Nathan Nades and Peter Pokawin.

Three other events will also take place. The 100m freestyle will see Anna-Lisa Mopio-Jane, Savannah Tkatchenko and Barbara Vali-Skelton compete.

The 200m freestyle will see Sam Seghers, Stanford Kawale and Bobby Akunaii heading up and down the pool.