SP PNG Hunters 2018

We will make sure we win: Hunters

Coming off an impressive 10-point win over Northern Pride on Sunday, the Hunters are now physically and mentally preparing themselves to meet the 4th-placed Norths Devils in the round 19 Country Week game clash.

“For us, playing in Lae is a first time too so we want to make sure we leave with the 2 points,” said Marum.

“It will be a tough one.

“Last week we played the number 4th team Pride, they dropped down and the Norths had a big win so they moved up to number 4 again.”

Gotuno replaces Morris

Also promoted to the starting line-up is Stanton Albert at prop and McKenzie Yei in the 2nd row.

Starters in the last game; Dilbert Isaac, Ila Alu, Edene Gabbie, Moses Meninga and William Mone, have been named on the extended 20-man bench.

Coach Michael Marum will finalise the starting 17 at the Captain’s Run this Saturday.

After Round 13 matches, the SP PNG Hunters currently share the fifth spot on the ladder with Easts Tigers and Sunshine Coast Falcons, with 12 points each.

Hunters open with a win

The Hunters got straight down to business.

Watson Boas danced and ducked his way past six defenders to score the Hunters’ first four pointer this season.

His brother, Ase, added the extra two points.

Six minutes later, the Hunters were in again, this time through Adex Wera who broke through and dashed away to the try line.

The Hunters continued to dominate in the search for more points.

The Jets regrouped and after consecutive sets were compensated.

With numbers out wide, Pio Seci was able to cross over on the wing.

44 named in 2018 train on squad

Former co-captain Adam Korave returns after a year off and joins 19 current premiership winning SP Hunters players.

Among the 24 new faces are Digicel Cup premiers Lae Snax Tigers and PNG Prime Minister’s team captain Charlie Simon, Tigers team mates Junior Rop, Mark Piti and John Andy. This includes Digicel Cup runners up Agmark Guria captain Stanley Olo, Illa Alu and Dilbert Isaac. Nine players from the other Digicel Cup teams have been included.