Round Eight

Round 8 NRL team lists

St George Illawarra Dragons v Sydney Roosters, Wednesday 4.10pm at Allianz Stadium

Dragons: 1 Matthew Dufty, 2 Nene Macdonald, 3 Euan Aitken, 4 Tim Lafai, 5 Jason Nightingale, 6 Gareth Widdop (c), 7 Ben Hunt, 8 James Graham, 9 Cameron McInnes, 10 Paul Vaughan, 11 Tyson Frizell, 12 Tariq Sims, 13 Jack De Belin

Interchange: 14 Jeremy Latimore, 15 Kurt Mann, 16 Leeson Ah Mau, 17 Jacob Host

Reserves: 18 Hame Sele, 19 Zachary Lomax, 20 Mitchell Allgood, 21 Reece Robson

Dwellers trounce Yamaros 6-1

Yamaros put the two time NSL champions under pressure in the opening exchanges coming close to scoring twice through Wipsie Dibewewe and Pais Yepei.

But keeper Ronald Warisan was up to the task and determined not to let anything pass him.

The Dwellers were able to weather the early storm and eventually found their rhythm.

After several attempts, star striker Raymond Gunemba eventually found the back of the net to put his side in front in the 27th minute of play.

Mioks, Gurias, Tumbe and Muruks register wins

In Minj, Tumbe def. Bintangor Goroka Lahanis 32-22 while in Mendi, Muruks def. Kroton Hela Wigmen 8-6.

To Port Moresby, Mioks def. NCDC Port Moresby Vipers 8-4 and across to Kokopo, Gurias def. Lae Snax Tigers 22-14.

Mioks hold on to beat Vipers

The Mioks found the try line first, right before the 20-minute mark after a break from Junior Bobby drawing in the defence before passing out to a flying Daniel Tapol to score out wide.

From the sideline, Jeffery Para struck it clean to take the Mioks to a 6-0 lead.

These were the only points in the first half.

The Mioks extended their lead minutes into the second half after Para kicked a penalty from thirty metres out.

The city boys finally got on the board late in the match when Rex Maima scored.

Games in POM, Mendi, Minj and Kokopo

At 2pm, PRK Mendi Muruks take on Kroton Hela Wigmen in Mendi. At the same time, Waghi Tumbe go head to head with Bintangor Goroka Lahanis across in Minj.

Down to the capital city, NCDC Port Moresby Vipers will clash with EPG Enga Mioks while in Kokopo, the Agmark Rabaul Gurias play host to Lae Snax Tigers. Both games are scheduled to kick off at 3pm.