Supreme Court orders re-count of ballot boxes for Kandep

Justices Allen David, Jacinta Murray and Frazer Pitpit in a unanimous decision upheld the two separate Supreme Court Election Petition Reviews that were filed by Don Polye and Alfred Luke Manase.

The three-judge Supreme Court bench quashed order 1 of the National Court Election Petition that set aside Polye’s election as member elect for Kandep.  

The Supreme Court also ordered the Electoral Commission to conduct a re-count of the ballot papers within the next 30 days.