PNG National Rugby League Competition

Referee’s Program

Chow said each week Digicel Cup referees are trained by a certified trainer organised by PNGNRLC to help referees to better understand their roles as match officials. More so, to maintain their level of fitness and to better understand the difference between a referee and a player while both are in the field.

“We want to make sure that the programme is focussed on improving the fitness level and the way referees should officiate the games,” said Chow.

Digicel Cup deadline for submissions

The deadline is on the 6th of December, 2019.

Following the expansion of the competition to 12 teams this year to cater for the newcomers, Central Dabaris and Kimbe Cutters, 2020 could see one or two more new teams joining the semi-professional competition.

According to PNG NRLC Manager, Stanley Hondina, he is expecting the bid submissions by next week.

Digicel applauds Chow on appointment

This will be Chow’s second term as the PNGNRLC Chairman and he will serve for another two years.

Digicel PNG Senior Vice President and Chief Sales Officer, Lorna McPherson, on behalf of Digicel, the major sponsors of the Digicel Cup, extended congratulations to Chow on his appointment.

“His appointment as the Chairman once again, reflects the level of trust and faith that the teams and their chairmen have in him. The success of our very own Digicel Cup has continued progressively under the leadership of Adrian as the Chairman of PNGNRLC,” said McPherson.

U23 rugby program to develop code

The Under 23 Resident program is a 5 year agreement with New South Wales Rugby League.

The Under 23 Resident’s program creates another pathway for all the players in the national competition, the Digicel Cup.

“This program has been negotiated and finalized by PNGRFL together the counterparts News South Wales Rugby Country and PNGNRLC. We are deligted that they have the confidence in PNGNRLC to pass the program onto us to deliver it in PNG” explained PNGNRLC Chairman Adrian Chow.

NRLC content with Digicel Cup progress

In a press conference yesterday, manager of the PNG NRLC, Stanley Hondina, said with the conclusion of round 14, the points table speaks volumes of the tough games that have been played over 14 weekends.

To further ensure a smooth running of the game, the National Rugby League Competition has put some systems in place to collect and keep records.

“We have a sporting software that loads all team sheets, team lists and scoring of the game sheets,” said Hondina.

He further explained the system used by referees and linesmen to award the player of the year.

Hondina Round 3 review

Manager of the PNG National Rugby League Competition, Stanley Hondina, made this comparison to the first three rounds of the 20-17 season this week.

He said the matches served justice to the competition level itself, and giving fans and supporters what they deserve.

Chow: Congratulations to all teams

He said he believed all teams had done their best and looked forward to the 2018 season.

Chow finished by thanking all the fans and sponsors for their continued support to the Digicel Cup.

In yesterday’s presentation for the 2017 season: Top goal kicker: Robin Soga (Bintangor Goroka Lahanis), Top try scorer: Joe Joshua (Lae Snax Tigers), Grand final man of the match: Charlie Simon (Lae Snax Tigers).

Digicel Cup 2017 season launched

The Cup plus the eight captains of the franchises were out on show for the public to see to help build up excitement for the semi-professional competition that is all set to kick off this weekend.

Chairman of the PNG National Rugby League Competition (PNG NRLC), Adrian Chow said this weekend’s games will be played in Port Moresby, Lae, Goroka and Wabag.

“Later rounds will see games in all our other centres in Kokopo, Minj and Mendi.

Chow pointed out that the new national competition offers opportunities as well as challenges.

Eight teams for this year’s Digicel Cup competition

The eight: NCDC Vipers, Kroton Hela Wigmen, Agmark Rabaul Gurias, Reigning premiers Lae Snax Tigers, Bintangor Goroka Lahanis, Waghi Tumbe, PRK Mendi Muruks and EPG Enga Mioks.

Chairman of the newly revamped PNG National Rugby League Competition, Adrian Chow said nine applications to participate were received.

The application from the Mt Hagen Eagles was rejected.

 “The Executive Management Board considered all the applications thoroughly and did not accept the Eagles application because it is determined to manage a national competition free of violence.