Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships

Palais qualify for 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens

Despite coming fourth out of eight teams at the Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships in Fiji, the Palais still finished as the highest placed women’s team (outside of Australia, Fiji and New Zealand).

Results from day two:

Australia def. PNG Palais 25-7 (semi-final), Fiji def. PNG Palais 39-0 (third and fourth playoff).

As for the PNG Pukpuks, they finished fifth out of 13 teams. It’s also good news for the Pukpuks, who have qualified for the 2018 Commonwealth Games, 2018 Rugby World Cup 7s and HSBC Men’s Sevens World Series 2017/18.

Results from day two:

Pukpuks, Palais go down in finals

In the opening match of the men’s quarter-finals in Fji, Australia edged out the Pukpuks 22-21 to advance on to the semi-final.

The Pukpuks will meet American Samoa in the 5th-8th placed playoffs at 2:20pm (11:20pm PNG time).

The Palais were also unlucky, losing to Australia 25-7 in the first of the women’s semi-finals.

Australia will play New Zealand in the women’s grand final.

Not all hope is lost with the Palais to face off against Fiji for third place at 6:26pm (3:26pm PNG time).

(Photo credit: Oceania Rugby)

Day 1: Pukpuks win two matches


PNG Pukpuks def. Tuvalu 26-10, PNG Pukpuks def. Vanuatu 33-0, Samoa defeated PNG Pukpuks 31-14.


PNG Palais drew with Cook Islands 12-12, PNG Palais def. Tahiti 77-0, New Zealand def. PNG Palais 15-0.

Day two will start at 11am (8am PNG time) tomorrow morning, starting with the quarter-finals. 

Pukpuks win, Palais draw

In the opening match of the Championships this morning, the Palais settled for a 12-12 draw with Cook Islands.

Match 6 saw the Pukpuks down Tuvalu 26-10.

In the other matches today, the Pukpuks will take on Vanuatu and then later Samoa, while the Palais have dates with Tahiti and New Zealand.

The Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships started today and will end tomorrow with the finals.

(Palais in training – Photo credit: Oceania Rugby Facebook Page)

PNG Palais ready for Oceania 7s

The Oceania 7s will be held at the ANZ Stadium in Suva, Fiji from November 11-12.

In 2016, the Men’s and Women’s Oceania Rugby Championship have combined into one tournament.

The women’s competition will see seven countries compete for the title namely Fiji, Australia, Samoa, PNG, Cook Islands, Tonga and the Solomon Islands.

A final 12 member squad for the 7s tournament will be selected from the 27 players that will play on November 5 against Fiji to qualify for the World Cup Qualifier.