Five candidates so far for NCD Regional seat

Nominations for NCD regional seat opened yesterday with sitting Governor Powes Parkop, nominating upon the hour of the issue of writs at 4:15pm.

Terence Hetinu, Election Manager NCD and Provincial Returning Officer confirmed four more for the regional seat today, all independent candidates.

Hetinu said nominations are coming in a little bit slow, but should pick up around the last three days before the close of nominations on Thursday, April 27.

In respect to Form 29 filled prior, Hetinu says there is an expected total of 44 candidates for the regional seat.

Nomination of candidates slow in capital

As of 4pm today, four candidates' nominations were accepted by the NCD's Election Manager and Returning Officer Terrence Hetinu,  who said nominations have been slow.

The first to nominate yesterday for North West was Micros Nea, an independent candidate at 4:47pm.

Today, former Chairman of Motu Koitabu Council Miria Ikupu nominated at 1:40pm. He will be running as an Independent candidate.

PNG Loop's 5 @ 5

2017 General Election underway!

The 2017 General Election is now underway following the signing and issue of Writs this morning.

Thousands witness PNC members’ nominations

Traffic makes way for supporters

Residents, numbering in thousands, dressed in green as they walked to the Sir Hubert Murray Stadium.

Justin Tkatachenko will be addressing his supporters at Sir Hubert before his nomination at 4pm.

More to come from Loop PNG today.

Thousands witness PNC members’ nominations

Komal and Powi are contesting under the People's National Congress (PNC) party.

Party leader and Prime Minister Peter O'Neill will be endorsing them.

PNC currently has 55 MPs in the coalition and will be doing its best to return its candidates.