NCD Regional

Parkop thanks people for trust and confidence


Parkop was officially declared by NCD Election Manager Alwyn Jimmy at Rita Flynn at 11am today.

He was escorted to be declared by Member elect for Moresby-South Justin Tkatchenko.

Parkop signed the Writ witnessed by supporters, counting officials, electoral officials, security personnel and the media.

Meantime, Parkop thanked the people of NCD for having the trust and confidence in him and giving him the mandate to lead a third term in Parliament.

Parkop assured the people that he will continue to do his best to make the city even better.

Parkop retains seat

Parkop reached the absolute majority of 54 864 by just 6 votes polling a total of 54 870 votes after exclusion 35.

Andy Bawa polled 28 025 and Michael Kandiu collected 26 873.

Parkop will be officially declared by NCD Election manager Alwyn Jimmy at Rita Flynn.

His supporters are packed outside the Rita Flynn venue to celebrate his victory.

More to come.

NCD Regional to declare winner soon

With three candidates left in the race, results for the 35th exclusion are yet to be put up.

Meantime, 4442 votes from excluded candidate Robert Agen were distributed among the 3 remaining candidates.

After exclusion 34, incumbent Governor and People’s Democratic Party leader Powes Parkop is leading on 52 331 votes with an absolute majority of 58 162

The final three results show:

Counting: NCD Regional progressive count after 26th elimination

As of 6:30pm, only 11 candidates were still in the race for the NCD Regional seat.

The progressive tally as of the 26th elimination shows:

COUNTING: NCD Regional update

Assistant election manager NCD, Bale Kavanamur, revealed this to Loop PNG today.

Counting will soon resume for the seat at the Rita Flynn Indoor Complex.

After exclusion 13, 25 candidates remain in the race.

The top five are as follows:

1. Powes Parkop (SDP) - 39,512

2. Andy Bawa (IND) - 19,494

3. Michael Kandiu (IND) - 16,332

4. Robert Agen (IND) - 8,209

5. Paul Paraka (GRUF) - 6,272

COUNTING: NCD Regional progressive result – after count 326

Progressive results as of 2pm this afternoon are as follows; 

COUNTING: NCD regional progressive result – after count 223

As at 4pm today, Parkop was over 12,000 votes ahead of his second-placed rival, Andy Bawa, at the end of count 223.

Progressive results for NCD regional: After count 214

Progressive results from count 214 are as follows;

COUNTING: Progressive results for NCD regional: After count 209

Progressive results as of 10am this morning after count 209 are as follows;

COUNTING: NCD Regional after count 132

Regional - after count 132