Moresby Northwest

PNGEC prioritizes partnerships

Southern Highlands Provincial Administrator, Jerry David and Acting Electoral Commissioner, Simon Sinai signed the MoU that now allows for the PNGEC and the provincial administration to coordinate efforts to update the electoral roll in the provinces in preparation for the 2022 general elections.

“Sharing information and coordinating with stakeholders is a priority.”

“Electoral Commission will work with other important national bodies.”

“Our international partners are also important stakeholders, who we will continue to work with.”

Samuel Commends Voters

Lohia Boe Samuel was declared on June 24th when his total votes of 25,185 bypassed the absolute majority of 23,249 votes and sworn-in to office on Friday 2nd July.

Samuel said the people of Moresby Northwest have been neglected for a very long time.

In response to alleged rigging of elections, Samuel said, “The election was not rigged. It was a result of many, many years of hard work.”

The new member said the problem started when results of the first count were being tallied at the ward 7 counting location in Murray Barracks.

5 candidates eliminated

The candidates eliminated were: 

1. Jenop Samo - 9 

2. Kapi Malipu - 10 

3. Enoch Lepatu - 10 

4. Paul Peter Masta 11 

5. Cyril Rembame Ame - 16 

Elimination has been suspended as election officials sort out the digital tally.

K500,000 for by-election

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for the by-election was signed yesterday by Acting Electoral Commissioner, Simon Sinai, and NCD City Manager, Bernard Kipit.  

Kipit says there is urgency for representation for the people of Moresby Northwest.

“Our Constitution states that everybody in PNG must be represented. Moresby Northwest has been very unlucky, it has not been fully represented for the last four years,” he said.   

Sinai further thanked the Office of the NCD Governor for the contribution.

Lohia maintains lead in Moresby North west

Counting is currently underway at the Rita Flynn Courts at Boroko.

Count 21 progressive results as of 2pm this afternoon are as follows; Samuel Boe Lohia is climbing and still in the lead with 3, 181 votes after count 20; Miria Ikupu is running second with 1,543 votes, Russell Wavik with 1, 361 votes, followed by Sir Mekere Morauta with 840 votes and sitting MP, Michael Malabag with 633 votes.

The results are progressive as count 22 resumes at 2:30pm.

More updates on Loop PNG.