Member Elect

Isoaimo declared for Kairuku Open

Kairuku is the first Open electorate in Central Province to declare a member-elect for the 11th Parliament.

Isoaimo was declared by the Returning Officer for Kairuku Open, Henry Oa at the counting venue at Murray Barracks. Oa said Isoaimo won by 10,594, passing the absolute majority of 9,860 votes. Oa then invited Isoaimo to sign the writ.

“Today at my declaration I am the first member for Kairuku open seat, the journey to splitting Kairuku and Hiri Electorate took us well over 8 years,” said Isoaimo.

Maneke Declared For Nakanai Open

He was declared with 20, 156 votes exceeding the absolute majority of 17, 920 after the 16th exclusion.

Progressive results after 16th Exclusion are as follows with PFP candidate Nixon Paiaki Volele eliminated with a remaining tally of 12,684 votes.

1. Francis Galia Maneke – PANGU - 20,156

2. Francis Marus - PNC - 15,681

Absolute Majority - 17, 920

Marum Is ENB Governor-elect

The former PNG Kumuls and Hunters coach raced home to victory with 33,285 votes to be declared governor-elect for the province at 4pm.

Marum in an official speech acknowledged the efforts of provincial electoral officials and the office for the past two weeks. He also lauded outgoing governor, Nakikus Konga.

“I thank outgoing Governor, Konga for his time and efforts over the past five years. Now that I have taken over, I look forward to working with him.

Kumai is new Talasea MP

He was declared member-elect for Talasea Open just this afternoon.

After PANGU Pati candidate John Tuka was eliminated from the race at the 29th Exclusion count, his 5052 votes were distributed between Kumai and United Labour Party candidate Blaise Dau.

After the 30th and final elimination, Dau finished with 6779 votes.

Talasea Open seat was held by PANGU Pati candidate Francis Maneke, who is contesting the Open seat for the new Nakanai District.

Paita signs writ

He was accompanied by Lae Member-elect, John Rosso, and a large number of supporters, who braved the downpour to witness the event.

Paita was declared at 7pm yesterday at the Finschhafen Technical School with 23,504 votes, exceeding an absolute majority of 16,121.

His runner up was Theo Zurenuoc, who polled 4,157 votes.

After signing the writ with the Returning Officer, Fredah Joses, Paita apologised on behalf of his people for creating a difficult environment for the RO and her officials.

Schnaubelt Re-elected

Schnaubelt was officially declared after the 16th exclusion, having polled 16, 454 votes.

His declaration was done at the Stemper hall in Namatanai town at 8pm yesterday.

Finishing second was People’s Progress Party candidate Byron Chan with 12,393 votes and second runner-up, James Seat finished with 3,936 votes.

Schnaubelt was first elected into Parliament in the 2017 National General Election.

New Ireland has declared it’s  MPs for each district and the provincial seat.

‘Wok Save Toktok’

“Ol pipol blo Lae ol no longlong mo. Yumi stap lo siti.” (The people of Lae know better now. We’re in the city.)

Rosso, who was declared with 26,864 primary votes, is returning to serve his second term in the 11th House of Parliament.

Speaking at the Sir Ignatius Kilage indoor complex, he stressed that the people know which leader is performing, and they will vote accordingly.

“I want to say thank you,” he continued.