“Discharge your duties with honesty”

He made this statement during the 2023 Legal Year Opening at the Marimari Lutheran Church in Port Moresby this morning.

Justice Gavara Nanu who stepped in to deliver Chief Justice Sir Gibbs Salika’s speech who was absent reiterated the importance of applying their oath as a guide.  

“In the application of the law, we must do so with honesty and dignity.

“When we lose focus on upholding the rule of law then we will find ourselves in a society where there is break down of rule of law and bribery and corruption will prosper.

Judges attend money laundering workshop

The workshop was hosted from July 12- 15th July by the Pacific Centre for Judicial Excellence and co-sponsored by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC).

The participants include Chief Justice of Papua New Guinea Sir Gibbs Salika, Deputy Chief Justice Ambeng Kandakasi, Deputy Chief Justice of Solomon Islands Rex Faukona including Judges from the Supreme and National Courts of Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands.

Pacific essayist join judges panel for 10th annual Commonwealth Short Story Prize

New- Zealand’s Makereti is an award-winning writer of fiction and non-fiction whose work has appeared in a range of literary journals, magazines and anthologies.

Her fellow judges, drawn from the other regions of the Commonwealth, are Nigerian author A. Igoni Barrett (Africa), Bangladeshi writer and editor Khademul Islam (Asia), British poet and fiction writer Keith Jarrett (Canada and Europe), Jamaican environmental activist and author Diana McCaulay (Caribbean).

South African novelist and critic Zoë Wicomb will chair the panel of judges.

Reappointed Judges sworn in

Their reappointments were announced on 23 May by Chairman of the Judicial and Legal Services Commission Alfred Manase, following a meeting on 15 May 2019.

Waigani based civil court judge, Justice Ere Kariko, whose term will expire on 7th July this year, was reappointed for another ten year term. 

Madang-based and human rights administration judge, Justice David Cannings, whose term will expire on 24 June was re-appointed for another three years.

Rule of law to be improved

This is being done by increasing the number of judicial appointments through the Judicial and Legal Services Commission (JLSC).

Secretary for the Department of Justice & Attorney General, Dr Eric Kwa, said this during the Ceremonial Sitting of the Supreme Court to welcome the Deputy Chief Justice, Ambeng Kandakasi, and permanent Judge to the Supreme and National Courts, Justice Nicholas Miviri.

He said the O’Neill-Abel Government is committed to ensure the justice system is working to create a conducive environment for economic growth.

Practice self-discipline

The service began with the a march from the Boreboa Primary school gates at North Waigani, down to the PNG Bible Church, just before Morata.

Judges, Magistrates, lawyers and staff of the National Judiciary and Magisterial services took time off this morning to open the year 2019 with a dedication service led by Rev. Moresby Tunge.

But before that, an inspection of the guards was done by Chief Justice Sir Gibbs Salika. This is also his first as the head of the judiciary.

In delivering his keynote address, he stressed on discipline and having strong work ethics.

Judges in human rights workshop

The two-day workshop began today after a similar one was held last week for magistrates in the lower judiciary.

Chief Justice Sir Salamo Injia, in opening the workshop today, said two issues he hopes will be addressed are skills in dealing with human rights cases and the philosophical underpinnings of human rights.

“There is a wealth of case laws on human rights since Independence on the application, enforcement and protection of human rights under our domestic legal framework.

Four judges sworn in

Acting judges Thomas Anis, Danajo Koeget, Daniel Liosi and Ravunama Auka, today took their Declaration of office, loyalty and Judicial declaration before Governor General Sir Bob Dadea.

They were sworn in by the Governor General as judges of the National and Supreme Court of Papua New Guinea.

Their appointment is for a period of 10 years and was done by the Judicial and Legal Service Commission on November 3.

Early this month, the Judicial and Legal Service Commission also announced the appointment of six other judges.

Judges to increase

Chief Justice Sir Salamo Injia recently made it known that the aim is to get 80 to 100 judges sitting on the bench by 2020 so that all provinces in the country have a resident judge.

Facilities and manpower go hand in hand in service delivery and the higher judiciary is seeing a lot of development in delivering justice to the people.

Currently there are 39 judges on the bench, an increase of 20 appointments since Sir Salamo became the Chief Justice.   

Miviri sworn in as acting judge

Acting Judge Nicholas Miviri was sworn in by acting Governor General Theo Zurenuoc at the Government House today in the presence of Chief Justice Sir Salamo Injia and other judges.  

He will be posted to the Kimbe National Court for a term of 12 months. He joins Justice Ellenas  Batari in the West New Britain Province. 

He is the fifth acting judge currently serving in the National Court. The National and Supreme Court have 35 permanent judges.

Miviri’s appointment was announced on Jan 20, 2017 by Chairman of the Judicial and Legal Service Commission Ano Pala.