Immigration and Citizenship Authority (ICA)

Syndicate involved in fake visas: Immigration

This follows the apprehension of an Australian citizen (name withheld) who was in possession of a fake visa when trying to leave the country.

Minister for Immigration and Border Security, Westly Nukundj, labelled the uncovering of the syndicate as a breakthrough.

According to a statement, members of the ICA Special Taskforce received a tip-off and conducted surveillance at the Jackson’s International Airport on Sunday March 08th, and apprehended a female Australian citizen in possession of the fake visa.

Convicted foreigners not reported to Immigration

In a statement the ICA says it stands ready to assist relevant law enforcement agencies.

The ICA says whilst there are numerous reports of non-citizens involved in illegal activities with some being prosecuted and fined by the Courts, details of these non-citizens convicted are not reported to Immigration.

62 West Papuans awarded PNG citizenship

The awarding of 62 citizenship to West Papuans in Vanimo brings the total number of former West Papuans (now PNG citizens) to 1,352 since the Immigration and Citizenship Authority (ICA) started the process of registration and citizenship for West Papuans in 2017.

“You have waited for all this time for 30 to 40 years and I would like to thank you for your patience,” Minister Thomas said during the citizenship award ceremony.

“The time has come and I am pleased, on behalf of the PNG Government, to formally recognise you as PNG citizens.”

Temporary suspension on visa on arrival

This was announced by Chief Migration Officer, Solomon Kantha, to all commercial airlines that travel in PNG airspace.

The ban will be in place for a month.

In a circular notice on October 12th to Air Niugini, PNG Air, Qantas, Philippine Airlines and Virgin Australia, the Chief Migration Officer said the temporary suspension of visa on arrival applies to all passports and nationalities.

The temporary ban commences from 30th October 2018 to 30 November 2018.