Gazelle Open

Wong Retains Seat

Wong, 44, is the third candidate in East New Britain to be declared Member of Parliament.

Returning Officer, John Wartovo declared Wong at 2.30 pm after the 31st and final exclusion at midday. Wong’s final tally was 9,348 votes with National Alliance candidate and former Gazelle MP, Malakai Tabar coming in second with 6, 373 votes. The Absolute Majority was 7,861.

14 Nominate For Gazelle Open

Gazelle Returning officer, John Wartovo confirmed the nominations of the candidates stating that Wong was the first to nominate as nominations kicked off at 1pm. Wong is contesting under the United Resources Party Banner.

Tabar was the third person to nominate for the seat.

Wong was accompanied by former Gazelle MP, Chief Sinai Brown, Livuan Reimber LLG President and Gazelle DDA Board vice chairman, Sam Piniau and his electoral officers.

Gazelle Open completes primary count

“I am now doing quality checks,” Returning Officer, Peter Lapim, told Loop PNG.

“After the quality checks, we will be doing the elimination.”

The progressive result: 

COUNTING: Gazelle Open progressive results after count 28

Gazelle Open - after count 28

COUNTING: Gazelle Open progresses to count 5

Leading the count is Henry Urai with 1,594 votes followed by Malakai Tabar with 1,155 votes.

Meantime in third place is Benard Lukara with 947 votes.

Counting is still progressing in the district and results will be posted on a later update.

More on Loop PNG.


(File picture)