East Asia Pacific

Pacific cricketers begin road to World T20

It's been four years since the last East Asia Pacific qualifier in the game's shortest format when Papua New Guinea went through undefeated.

Shane Deitz said the Vanuatu squad has been working hard in preparation since returning from World Cricket League Four in May.

Two teams will advance to the East Asia Pacific Regional Final and Deitz expects all four will fancy their chances.

PNG players dominate EAP select sides

The event will be held in Geraldon, Western Australia.

The men’s team has six players from PNG and eight from Vanuatu. The EAP women’s side is made up of eight PNG players, four from Vanuatu and one Samoan player.

The ACCC is an annual tournament which showcases the best cricket talent from regional areas around Australia, with teams from all around Australia and from the East Asia Pacific region.

EAP Men’s team:

Sese Bau                     PNG

Damien Ravu              PNG

Kipling Doriga            PNG

EAP lose by 121 runs to Victoria Country

Victoria won the toss and batted first finishing at 7/268 after the full over 50 overs. Michael Allen (88), Cameron Taylor (48) and Jake Best (42) were the major contributors for their side.

In their run chase, EAP struggled to get any solid partnerships going and were all bowled out for 147 after 38.2 overs. Jason Kila (37) top scored for EAP.

Tom Mathieson (3/16) and Ben Boyd (3/30) did the damage for Victoria taking three wickets each to seal an easy win with a bonus point.

EAP lose second match of Australian cricket champs

EAP won the toss and made the decision to bat first hoping to set a competitive target for the opposition.

The opening pair of Kipling Doriga (7) and Dogodo Bau (12) again failed to get things going and EAP soon found themselves in similar waters from their first match.

Despite some fight from Nalin Nipiko (48) and Hiri Hiri (27), EAP were eventually all bowled out inside 43 overs for 147.

South Australia’s Andrew Frick was the thorn in EAP’s side finishing the innings with 3/36.

EAP lose to Queensland Country

EAP won the toss at Keira Oval and made the decision to bat first.

The two openers from PNG in Kiping Doriga (4) and Dogodo Bau (16) didn’t last long, leaving EAP at 2/18 early on in the innings.

Wickets continued to fall and EAP found themselves all out for 154 after 43 overs bowled.

PNG’s Hiri Hiri top scored for EAP with 38 runs while Justin Dixon was the top bowler for his side with 3/29.

Queensland Country reached the target with ease in the 33rd over for the loss of only 2 wickets, thanks to an unbeaten knock of 49 from Tony Hampson.

PNG dominates EAP men’s and women’s squads

The EAP men’s squad has eight PNG internationals in Jason Kila, Dogodo Bau, Kipling Doriga, Hiri Hiri, Nosaina Pokana, Pipi Raho, Alei Nao and Vagi Boko.

The rest of the squad is made of players from Fiji, Japan and Vanuatu.

The side is also coached by another Papua New Guinean in John Ovia.

The women’s squad also has eight PNG players- Helen Buruka, Sibona Lucy Jimmy, Ravini Oa, Kopi John, Konio Oala, Tanya Ruma, Pauke Siaka (c) and Veru Kila Frank.

The other players are from Japan, Samoa and Vanuatu. Coaching will be Eddie Mansale and Bebe Miyaji.

EAP cricket side hammered by South Australia

South Australia won the toss and sent their opponents into bat.

The EAP side were all bowled out for a 124 after 50.2 overs in their first innings.

PNG’s Pipi Raho top scored for EAP with 25 runs. Another PNG player in Kiplin Doriga was second best with 20 runs.

It was Ben Hutchinson for South Australia that did the damage taking 3/22.

At their turn at bat, South Australia batted to a 190 runs before declaring. They only lost four wickets along the way.