Department of Personnel Management

No Tax Increase on Public Servants Salaries

Secretary Ms. Taies Sansan affirmed that Internal Revenue Commission Commissioner General Sam Koim has confirmed there is no tax increase affecting public servants' salaries.

Secretary Sansan has clarified that the Internal Memo dated 9th January 2024, which was circulated internally in DPM and went viral on social media was information for internal consumption however ended up on social media.

DITI structure approved

Acting Secretary for DITI, Jacinta Warakai Manua said with this approval, the department that was established under NEC Decision No. NG48/2022 was now an entity that would function like any other normal Government department.

This NEC Decision directed the Department of Personnel Management to create a Department structure of 25 positions.

Gov’t payroll system upgrade progressing

Public Service Minister, Joe Sungi said Department of Personnel Management (DPM) has taken the necessary steps to address the payroll issues that has plagued the system over the years.  
“The version upgrade project by DPM is one of the corrective measures being undertaken by the Department to address issues on the current payroll system version 12 which has become obsolete and unsupported, requiring the upgrade to be undertaken immediately,” Minister Sungi said. 

DPM clarifies Provincial Administrators’ appointments

Deputy Secretary Executive Resourcing Wing, Vele Ravugamini, made this clarification during a media workshop on Tuesday in Port Moresby.

Mr Ravugamini said most often media tend to mislead the people with their use of words in their reporting.

“This is the reason why we are hosting this media workshop to help media understand and write good informative reports when disseminating to the people.

Public Servants Released To Vote

They are free to exercise their constitutional right during the polling period from July 4th to 22nd, according to the election schedule released by the Electoral Commission.

The Department of Personnel Management has released Circular Instruction No.8, dated 4th May, regarding the matter.

DPM Secretary, Taies Sansan said this is for public servants and employees to leave work early to visit their nearest polling booth.

Madang's Public Servants told resume work

Secretary for the Department of Personnel Management, Taies Sansan when addressing the public servants via mobile phone recently, said public servants who do not adhere to this advice would be subject to disciplinary action.

Secretary Sansan, whose phone call was projected through a speaker, stated that due process was followed in the appointment of Frank Tonges Lau as Provincial Administrator (PA). She said the National Executive Council (NEC) made the decision on May 3rd, 2022, and it must be respected.

DPM Confirms Madang PA

DPM Secretary, Taies Sansan said, the National Executive Council (NEC) revoked the Acting Provincial Administrator, Clement Tare’s appointment and appointed Mr Lau on 10 May 2022 in NEC decision number 229 of 2022.  
Lau’s appointment was gazetted on 30 May in gazettal notice G426 and it is for a four-year term.  

Reservist Public Servants Released For Election Duties

The police reservists have been permitted to assist the Royal PNG Constabulary and the Electoral Commission.

The reservist officers will assist over the period of 12th May to 29th July, 2022.

Department of Personnel Management (DPM) Secretary, Taies Sansan said these officers will be put on their normal pay for the period specified, unless the services of a requested officer are essential to be running the Department’s operations, in which he or she must not be released.

DA Appointments Cease

DPM Secretary, Taies Sansan said in light of the looming National General Elections, following directions are now issued:

K5.7m in retirement benefits paid

Taies Sansan, Secretary for the Department of Personnel Management said the officers were identified and their names submitted to DPM for validation and verification.