Dally M Medal

Cameron Smith wins Dally M Medal

Just days away from captaining the Storm in the 2017 NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final, Smith (33 points) won the prestigious Dally M Medal by a remarkable eight points – following his first win in 2006.

His opponent in Sunday's grand final, North Queensland Cowboys halfback Michael Morgan (25 points), finished runner-up, while St George Illawarra's Gareth Widdop (24) was third. Sydney Roosters five-eighth Luke Keary and Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks captain Paul Gallen finished equal fourth, on 22 points.

Cooper Cronk to leave Melbourne Storm

The 33-year-old has opted against taking up the final year of his contract, meaning 2017 will be his last season playing for Melbourne.

Cronk has played 306 games for the Storm across 15 seasons, winning the Clive Churchill Medal in 2012 and the Dally M Medal in 2013 and 2016, while he has also played 32 Tests for Australia and 19 State of Origin games for Queensland.

"Melbourne Storm has been everything to me since moving down here from Brisbane as a kid back in 2003," Cronk said.

Barba close to his best

On the back of his Dally M Medal-winning season of 2012 Barba scored three tries and was named man of the match in the 2013 All Stars game but two weeks later was stood down by the Bulldogs for behavioural issues and breaking the club's code of conduct.

His personal life became newspaper fodder and by the end of the season he had requested a release from Canterbury to join the Broncos and reunite with his young family.